American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I will definitely make it again! It turned out very good. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great base recipe for sure, I added 1/2 cup sour cream as my mom always did and it was absolutely perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the bomb! I did make changes as suggested by Dale's review, and before I even finished it, I was "tasting" a little too much! Changes made: For dressing, mixed Miracle Whip lite with 1/2 Tblsp white wine vinegar, 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp Lawrys seasoning salt,2 Tblsp Famous Daves spicy relish, 1 Tblsp dijon mustard, 2 t salt, 1 tsp black pepper and a sprinkling each of dill weed and garlic powder. I reduced celery to 1 stalk and whirled the peppers and celery in the food processor (my family doesn't care for the texture of big chunks). Next time, I may also add about 1-2 tsp of dry ranch dip mix (we like very flavorful food!). I boiled 2 extra eggs to slice as garnish for the top and sprinkled paprika over the whole lot. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Joslyn for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
we liked it, but it needed more flavor. Will try again though with some tweeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very quick, simple and tastes excellent!! I added a little bit of mustard. My family gobbled this up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kloos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious-my new favorite potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTL45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Yummy dish Joslyn! I left the skin on the potatoes. I also added a bit of mustard, dill relish, parsley and bacon to put it over the top. Everyone loved it, will make again too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This tastes like the potato salad my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this as written, and it was very bland and the flavours unbalanced, like it was missing something vital. Two things I did like about it was the addition of green pepper, and the use of two onions, both scallions and a regular onion. I felt these were both great ideas. But, something was still missing. I went through some of my Fanny Farmer and Betty Crocker cookbooks as well as a few others, and noticed that mustard was one ingredient they all mentioned that this one was missing. So, I added a tablespoon of whole grain mustard. This seemed to balance the flavours out so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
When I use these ingredients for potato salad, I add a T or so of mustard (prefer stone-ground), paprika, and some Italian dressing. The mustard provides the tang and the dressing moistens and gives wonderful flavors. I still use some mayo or salad dressing, along with the other ingredients above. It's always different: sometimes with cayenne and/other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States