American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSLYN H.
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Greetings all! :-) Thank you for trying my recipe, and for your reviews. This is a good, basic recipe and best when made a day ahead to allow the flavors to blend. What fun to read what others have added, mustard, pickles, bacon, radishes, etc. Because everyone’s tastes vary, as mentioned in the description, I encourage you to add "additional ingredients" to make this recipe "your own". Don’t be afraid to experiment, that's what makes cooking fun. When adding bacon or chopped dill pickles, you may want to reduce the salt called for in the recipe. Have Fun and Happy Cooking! Joslyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is the perfect recipe. You can leave it the way it is,and it is great, or you can add almost anything you want to it! I added a bit of mustard, and I loved it. Living in Europe, I was seriously lacking some good potato salad, and this recipe hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I took it to my Fathers Birthday party and every one loved it and wanted the recipes....it was a great hit..thanks for sharing itwith everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Amazing! I add 2-3 tsp dill, parsley, 2-3 tsp of spicy mustard and an extra egg and paprika for the top. i also mix all the spices and mayo in a small bowl, minimizing the mixing of the potatoes. Great recipe. The inlaws (in sweden) are in love with this and have asked for the recipe! thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Add more mayo and lots more pepper. Pepper is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This was the BEST potato salad I have ever made. The only thing I added was yellow mustard. This will be my recipe of choice from now on for Potato Salad! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
EXCELLENT! I agree with others, it needs some kick! i added alot more pepper and some Emeril's Essence! This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This salad is the perfect traditional picnic salad. I suggest buying the smaller red potatoes to prepare this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
A great base recipe for potato salad! This was great except next time i will spice it up considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Absolutely awesome! I added some celery seed, a little bit of spicy mustard (like 1 tsp) and half a red pepper also to give more color. So good. It is now my staple potato salad recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States