American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSLYN H.
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Greetings all! :-) Thank you for trying my recipe, and for your reviews. This is a good, basic recipe and best when made a day ahead to allow the flavors to blend. What fun to read what others have added, mustard, pickles, bacon, radishes, etc. Because everyone’s tastes vary, as mentioned in the description, I encourage you to add "additional ingredients" to make this recipe "your own". Don’t be afraid to experiment, that's what makes cooking fun. When adding bacon or chopped dill pickles, you may want to reduce the salt called for in the recipe. Have Fun and Happy Cooking! Joslyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I have three favorite potato salads from this site but decided to try this one to start the 2007 summer. We loved it and made minimal changes. To make this quickly - first start cooking the eggs - then take out the large bowl that you will be using to serve - I peel and dice the potatoes and rinsed them in that bowl to get out starch - put potatoes in cold water and bring to boil - then lower heat to a slow boil and cook approx. 10 to 15 min. Your eggs will probably be finised by then so cool them down with cold water. Then mix all the ingredients for dressing in the bowl - add the chopped eggs and by then your potatoes are probably ready to add. Very little clean up and no waiting time for things to be done - I added a tablespoon of ground mustard to dressing and only used 2 eggs but that is just a preference. I thought this turned out great and it was fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Good, but needed something. I added 2 more eggs and 6 tablespoons of deli mustard and used red onion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Amazing! I add 2-3 tsp dill, parsley, 2-3 tsp of spicy mustard and an extra egg and paprika for the top. i also mix all the spices and mayo in a small bowl, minimizing the mixing of the potatoes. Great recipe. The inlaws (in sweden) are in love with this and have asked for the recipe! thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Great base recipe. My grandmother used to make a potato salad similar to this and I had a terrible time finding this recipe! I add some dill relish and a little yellow mustard. Some garlic powder sprinkled in at the end, and it was perfect. Thank you, Joslyn, for reminding me what good potato salad tastes like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I took it to my Fathers Birthday party and every one loved it and wanted the recipes....it was a great hit..thanks for sharing itwith everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Makes a large amount of salad (larger than I expected). Simple to make. Could use a bit more something to add flavor but is definitely edible the way it is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is the perfect recipe. You can leave it the way it is,and it is great, or you can add almost anything you want to it! I added a bit of mustard, and I loved it. Living in Europe, I was seriously lacking some good potato salad, and this recipe hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I get rave reviews with the following changes: omitted the bell pepper: increased the eggs to one dozen: mixed the mayonaise with 1 Tblsp salad vinegar: 1 Tblsp sugar: 1 tsp Lawrys seasoning salt: 1/3 cup sweet pickle relish; 1/2 tsp black pepper. Added all to potatoes, celery, and (sweet) onions. This is how I always make potato salad and it never fails to get compliments and eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a great basic potato salad recipe. I have made this a couple of times and I wanted to share the slight modifications I have made to mine through my experience. First is the size. I suggest you use the six serving size as a starting point instead of 12. You will still have enough potato salad to serve 12 people seconds. Also, I use red pepper instead of green for the sharper taste. I also doubled the amount of celery for the added crunch. Most importantly is adding two table spoons of classic Dijon mustard (the kind where you still see the mustard seed). I am not a Dijon mustard fan in any way, except for using in small amounts to compliment some sauces. It really does add another dimension to this recipe and, it goes a long way to turn a very basic recipe into something more (it is very subtle). Lastly is the cook time for the potatoes. I suggest 20 to 25 minutes instead of 15 - 20 minutes, which I find leave the potatoes slightly too hard. I like my potato salad to have a bit of mash to the potato pieces and 25 minutes is just about right. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States