American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is very good, but substitute mayo for sour cream and mayo, 1/2 and 1/2 and add sweet relish and splenda sugar (two packets) and dried onion (2 tablespoons) along with the green onion and add 1/2 teaspoon of celery seed make sure the potatoes are over cooked, falling apart and they are cold before you add other ingredients Betty Parker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is delicious! The combination of flavors is perfect. Made exactly as written with no changes needed-YUM! This will be made often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I added a little mustard, about 1 cup mayo, added chopped pickle, bacon, and cheese. Next time I will leave out the green pepper, I didn't think it went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a pretty tasty potato salad, but it makes WAY more than 12-15 servings! I made a full batch because I had a lot of guests coming over, and had so much left over that I doubt we will be able to finish it all. The salad itself is good, but nothing spectacular. Just a simple, basic potato salad. I felt that it didn't have quite enough flavor...too many potatoes, and not enough taste. I did skip the green pepper, and used extra celery instead. Altogether, it was a good salad, and people liked it, but no one raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good basic recipe - thank you. All reviews have given me extra ideas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a great basic potato salad recipe. I have made this a couple of times and I wanted to share the slight modifications I have made to mine through my experience. First is the size. I suggest you use the six serving size as a starting point instead of 12. You will still have enough potato salad to serve 12 people seconds. Also, I use red pepper instead of green for the sharper taste. I also doubled the amount of celery for the added crunch. Most importantly is adding two table spoons of classic Dijon mustard (the kind where you still see the mustard seed). I am not a Dijon mustard fan in any way, except for using in small amounts to compliment some sauces. It really does add another dimension to this recipe and, it goes a long way to turn a very basic recipe into something more (it is very subtle). Lastly is the cook time for the potatoes. I suggest 20 to 25 minutes instead of 15 - 20 minutes, which I find leave the potatoes slightly too hard. I like my potato salad to have a bit of mash to the potato pieces and 25 minutes is just about right. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good. I add carrots for color, more mayo than recipe calls for, and more celery for the crunch. I cooked the potatoes a little too long. Jay likes them very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very tasty,highly recommend that you try this dish. It lends it's self very well as a stand alone dish or a base to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Absolutely delishous! Everyone loved this salad at our picnic. Two people requested the recipe. Thank you my search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great recipe. We have been making almost this exact recipe for years except we make it a potato/macaroni with the addition of a little elbow macaroni. For our tastes, you definitely need all the eggs suggested in this recipe but I must admit we don't add any bell pepper. It repeats on too many of us!! This is a wonderful recipe for new cooks who need to start with the basics and then venture out to add other ingredients as they get more comfortable. Thanks Joslyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States