American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I get rave reviews with the following changes: omitted the bell pepper: increased the eggs to one dozen: mixed the mayonaise with 1 Tblsp salad vinegar: 1 Tblsp sugar: 1 tsp Lawrys seasoning salt: 1/3 cup sweet pickle relish; 1/2 tsp black pepper. Added all to potatoes, celery, and (sweet) onions. This is how I always make potato salad and it never fails to get compliments and eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is very good, but substitute mayo for sour cream and mayo, 1/2 and 1/2 and add sweet relish and splenda sugar (two packets) and dried onion (2 tablespoons) along with the green onion and add 1/2 teaspoon of celery seed make sure the potatoes are over cooked, falling apart and they are cold before you add other ingredients Betty Parker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is delicious! The combination of flavors is perfect. Made exactly as written with no changes needed-YUM! This will be made often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I added a little mustard, about 1 cup mayo, added chopped pickle, bacon, and cheese. Next time I will leave out the green pepper, I didn't think it went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a pretty tasty potato salad, but it makes WAY more than 12-15 servings! I made a full batch because I had a lot of guests coming over, and had so much left over that I doubt we will be able to finish it all. The salad itself is good, but nothing spectacular. Just a simple, basic potato salad. I felt that it didn't have quite enough flavor...too many potatoes, and not enough taste. I did skip the green pepper, and used extra celery instead. Altogether, it was a good salad, and people liked it, but no one raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good basic recipe - thank you. All reviews have given me extra ideas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a great basic potato salad recipe. I have made this a couple of times and I wanted to share the slight modifications I have made to mine through my experience. First is the size. I suggest you use the six serving size as a starting point instead of 12. You will still have enough potato salad to serve 12 people seconds. Also, I use red pepper instead of green for the sharper taste. I also doubled the amount of celery for the added crunch. Most importantly is adding two table spoons of classic Dijon mustard (the kind where you still see the mustard seed). I am not a Dijon mustard fan in any way, except for using in small amounts to compliment some sauces. It really does add another dimension to this recipe and, it goes a long way to turn a very basic recipe into something more (it is very subtle). Lastly is the cook time for the potatoes. I suggest 20 to 25 minutes instead of 15 - 20 minutes, which I find leave the potatoes slightly too hard. I like my potato salad to have a bit of mash to the potato pieces and 25 minutes is just about right. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good. I add carrots for color, more mayo than recipe calls for, and more celery for the crunch. I cooked the potatoes a little too long. Jay likes them very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very tasty,highly recommend that you try this dish. It lends it's self very well as a stand alone dish or a base to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Absolutely delishous! Everyone loved this salad at our picnic. Two people requested the recipe. Thank you my search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States