American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a good basic recipe but I suggest a few more steps & you'll have a kick butt salad! I steam potatoes instead of boiling & also use a combination of different types of potatoes for texture, once the potatoes are cooked, peeled, cubed & still warm I spray a little apple cider vinegar on 'em. I also add spicy brown mustard, slice olives, dill relish, a touch of sugar & a squirt of ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is exactly how I have always made potato salad. Just plain ol delicious salad with no extras. I prefer it this way and so do my family. So.........thank you for giving everyone the best potato salad recipe in the land of the free. >3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It's a good basic recipe. Missing mustard and relish juice. For anyone that just can't get the boiling of the potatoes just right, try this cheat from my aunt: Buy canned whole potatoes in the huge commercial sized can! The consistency is perfect every time AND you don't have to wait for the potatoes to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I fry up some bacon add that and a little mustard let sit in fridge for a few hours to soak up the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
To get this to a 5 star recipe, you should add a couple of tablespoons of juice from sweet pickle relish. About once a year I make a batch of the juice and keep it in the fridge, just for salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
a dill pickle or two chopped in and the recipe would be complete!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
The recipie is delicious. For a new twist I added a little powdered ranch dressing to the mayonaise and pickled relish. Skip the salt.many compliments on this new twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe favorit of men. My husband ask me every day to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KoppanyNiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this for a guy's wing night and it was awesome. I fried up a few slices of bacon and added it in. I also added a red pepper for some colour. Will definitely be making again and again! Play around with spices to find your own unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENVET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My husband and I loved this american pootatoe salad, will be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States