American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
i enjoyd this potato salad i would have given it a 5 star, but it needed something more, so i added 3 more hard cooked eggs, and mustard!, needs mustard for my taste, and 2 small green onions, was not a good mix with 5 lbs of potatos, so added a small bunch of green onion, and added a red bell pepper (like better than green bell peppers) also added a couble of small diced dill pickles (I know most people like sweet pickles) not me, my sister, grows and cans her delish dill pickes, (wish i knew what she puts in them) i will need to make the 1 and 1/2 hr trip when she jars these tasty pickles, which she grows her own cucumbers, and herbs. also freshly ground black pepper, small amount of salt, due to the mustard, and pickles adds a fair amount of saltiness, love it this way, try this next time, i think you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My potato salad is similar but has a little more taste than this one. I use a small amount of fresh Cilanro (well diced), yellow mustard, and cubed sweet pickle (for a tangy sweet crunch). Sometimes in addition to the salt and black pepper I also add just a couple of dashes Cayenne pepper. It makes a heck of a difference and even some picky kids like my potato salad. Since I already have something green (the celery and cilantro( in my salad, I use a Red Bell Pepper for visual appeal. Also the potatoes do not need to be boiled 15-20 minutes. I just bring the potatoes to a boil and let them boil no longer than 5 minutes. Don't forget to leave the skins on the potatoes for color as well! Top off the dish with a light sprinkle of Plain Paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vbbryant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great but needs sweet pickles. Makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My family has made this potato salad for almost 100 years, except for the green onions. For those of you who want a little more zip . . . make sure both the green pepper and onion is grated by hand and use some of the juice from both . . . and finely dice the celery. It's very hard to say how much of these to use. I use about 10+ lbs of red potatoes and at least 2 lg onions and peppers and 18 large eggs. Some of the eggs are sliced thin and placed all over the top of the bowl and sprinkled with paprika. By grating and using the juices, the mixture works overnight and is delicious. This is always a winner, but the prep work takes a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
this is good, but need more "bite", like dill and more boiled eggs, and english dried mustard.bthis one is great to smoked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Try adding celery seed and a drained jar of pimentos for extra flavor and color. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I am not a big fan of mayo plus my Doc told me to stay away from it, so we made a small modification to the recipe. We used 1/2 cup of mayo and 1 1/2 cups of fat free greek joghurt, other than that we stuck right to the recipe and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe but all it needs is seasoned salt Plochmans stone ground mustard, bacon and radishes. This has been a family fav since I was a kid. There are many variations that work well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is our traditional recipe, too I add a bit of mustard for some zing (used dill mustard and some fresh dill for this batch). Simple and delicious, and adapts easily if you want to add extra ingredients to spice it up. Mary Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe this morning for a family barbecue! I added some balsamic vinegar and sweet hot mustard and garlic to it. Upon completion, it tasted great and my husband thought so too! I can hardly wait to share with my family this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States