American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It was VERY good. 5 of us cleaned up this recipe for 12-15 at 1 sitting. I used my own imagination with herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years. I use only red potatoes and after cooking them, cool them in the refrige usually the day before. I mix the mayo with a little milk and add salt, pepper, lawrys, paprika and a little garlic salt and a couple squirts of yellow mustard or more. 2 tsp. of salt sounds like way too much. I omit the green peppers and use about 4 stalks of celery, diced and about 1/4 of an onion diced. Sometimes, I put a little sweet pickle relish in it too. When finished, I sprinkle it with paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great standard recipe - basically use the same exact ingredients just add some dry mustard and the real key is some white vinegar. My potato salad gets requested CONSTANTLY and is one of my nephews favorite foods! It's a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Plain American good! The stuff the young kids like and us older types recall from quick summer lunches and thrown together picnics. We enjoyed the taste of the diced green pepper and will do it again. We use whatever potatoes are cheapest, usually Idaho or whites on the new side. Red potatoes are a buck more a pound here and we just can't like them for that. This recipe just keeps a very fresh, clean taste...a nice break from all the mustards and relishes and who knows what all goes in the bowl with more uptown folks. Some times we put a little fine dice of celery leaf, too. Our home recipe is identical (barring the red spuds and sweet green pepper) from the first heat of May through the end of November...and now we're going to spend the extra for that little green pepper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeythief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Add a tbl of regular mustard, for a nice flavor and color boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Awesome salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyNews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It needs dill pickles. Add about 4 or 5 dill pickles diced and you'll get the flavor that's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I make my potato salad exactly like this except for the additional of some chopped onions and a dollop of sour cream to the mayo mix. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have never had much luck with making potato salad, until this one. It's now officially on my husbands "feel free to obligate the wife to bring this to a summer gathering" list and I know I won't screw it up. Flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
i enjoyd this potato salad i would have given it a 5 star, but it needed something more, so i added 3 more hard cooked eggs, and mustard!, needs mustard for my taste, and 2 small green onions, was not a good mix with 5 lbs of potatos, so added a small bunch of green onion, and added a red bell pepper (like better than green bell peppers) also added a couble of small diced dill pickles (I know most people like sweet pickles) not me, my sister, grows and cans her delish dill pickes, (wish i knew what she puts in them) i will need to make the 1 and 1/2 hr trip when she jars these tasty pickles, which she grows her own cucumbers, and herbs. also freshly ground black pepper, small amount of salt, due to the mustard, and pickles adds a fair amount of saltiness, love it this way, try this next time, i think you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States