American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Everyone said it was the best potato salad they had. Followed the recipe but i do not use the green peppers and came out perfect. Very tasty!! Will make for every picnic we have. Much better than any store bought!! Oh, added a tsp or so of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I have made it about 4 times in the last 3 weeks for various get togethers, and everyone loves it. The first time I made it, i used the 2 tsp of salt called for in the recipe, and it was way too salty, so each other time i make it, i reduce to using just 1 tsp of salt. Also, I add about 6 slices of chopped cooked bacon and it is super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great classic/base recipe. I was in charge of potato salad and that's when I learned there were sooo many different ways to make it! I made this recipe exactly and it was good, but my husband and I like a bit more flavor so we added lots of pepper and some other ingredients: 1 diced pickle, some fresh dill, and about 1 Tbl. hot sauce (surprisingly the hot sauce really worked); we also left out some yolks, using mostly egg whites. This is a great recipe to either take as is or add you own personal tastes to at the end. I've already been asked to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Best Potato Salad recipe I have come across so far! It reminds me of the recipe my gram used to make when I was little - I couldn't find anything that came close until now Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! The only thing I did different was to add more eggs than it says. Just my preference. My boyfriend loved this! He ate several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
good starter but my family is not into celery or bell peppers,so i used only 3 eggs abnd added crispy bacon too.i also used a sweet yellow onion plus a red onion too.add a sqirt of honey mustard to give it tang and sweetness. we loved it,will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I could never find a potato salad recipe that I liked so I thought I would try this one. I made it for the 4th of July and it was a big hit. My family said that I am now the designated potato salad maker at family get togethers. The one thing I did add to make it perfect was cut up hard boiled egg. Personally I just couldn't have potato salad without the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Orton Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This ia a wonderful potato salad recipe. I taste almost like my mother's recipe that I love. I would have given it 5 stars but it lacked the sweet pickles that I love in potato salad. With them added it taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Success! Finally a perfect potato salad, just right amount of flavour and nice zing of dejon and would have never thought to put sweet pickles in a potato salad but they're wonderful. Made this for a BBQ and there were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I think that for every 5 lbs. of potatoes a pound of crisp, fried, crumpled bacon would be great! Maybe then you could eliminate the other salts all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States