American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
good starter but my family is not into celery or bell peppers,so i used only 3 eggs abnd added crispy bacon too.i also used a sweet yellow onion plus a red onion too.add a sqirt of honey mustard to give it tang and sweetness. we loved it,will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I could never find a potato salad recipe that I liked so I thought I would try this one. I made it for the 4th of July and it was a big hit. My family said that I am now the designated potato salad maker at family get togethers. The one thing I did add to make it perfect was cut up hard boiled egg. Personally I just couldn't have potato salad without the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Orton Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This ia a wonderful potato salad recipe. I taste almost like my mother's recipe that I love. I would have given it 5 stars but it lacked the sweet pickles that I love in potato salad. With them added it taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Success! Finally a perfect potato salad, just right amount of flavour and nice zing of dejon and would have never thought to put sweet pickles in a potato salad but they're wonderful. Made this for a BBQ and there were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I think that for every 5 lbs. of potatoes a pound of crisp, fried, crumpled bacon would be great! Maybe then you could eliminate the other salts all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I have three favorite potato salads from this site but decided to try this one to start the 2007 summer. We loved it and made minimal changes. To make this quickly - first start cooking the eggs - then take out the large bowl that you will be using to serve - I peel and dice the potatoes and rinsed them in that bowl to get out starch - put potatoes in cold water and bring to boil - then lower heat to a slow boil and cook approx. 10 to 15 min. Your eggs will probably be finised by then so cool them down with cold water. Then mix all the ingredients for dressing in the bowl - add the chopped eggs and by then your potatoes are probably ready to add. Very little clean up and no waiting time for things to be done - I added a tablespoon of ground mustard to dressing and only used 2 eggs but that is just a preference. I thought this turned out great and it was fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Just made this today and it turned out wonderful! I only peeled half of the potatoes and left the skins on the other half. I cut each potato in half and then boiled them, took about 15 minutes. Cut them up after boiling and after they cooled. I mixed the celery, eggs, mayo, onion and spices together and then added it to the potatoes. I also added some mustard. I used only red onions...it's just what I had. It's a great simple recipe, so you can add other ingredients if you like. It was very yummy and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
After bringing this dish to my last family gathering, I was informed that I was assigned to potato salad duty from now on! It was a hit with everyone, and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This just didn't do it for me. It wasn't horrible by any means and I still ate it, but it just wasn't what I was looking for. My husband on the other hand had 2 helpings and then was eating it straight from the bowl I had chilled it in. I tried to jazz it up with a little bit of mustard, but it was still missing something. I'll keep looking for a potato salad recipe that suits my taste a little better. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Excellent the only change I made was instead of celery i chopped up some dill pickles (not a big fan of celery) and sprinkled some paprika on top still great thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States