American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great recipe. Changes: 1 C. mayo, 1 C. sour cream, bacon, 2 Tbls dijon and no eggs. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is the perfect base potato salad recipe to play around with by adding different ingredients each time you make it. I have made this many times and my favorite additions are finely chopped red onion (to replace the green onion), 3 tsp dijon mustard, garlic powder and paprika. I always get lots of compliments (and requests for the recipe) with this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Was not as good as I was hoping. It was a little too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I would add 6 table spoons of hellmans sandwich spread and 2 table spoons of Mustard to give it some kick. Thats the down south way of making Potato Salad. With some fried chicken and a biscuit and you got a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zulisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Oohh, wonderful potato salad. Added more carrots and onions. Used ranch dressing instead of mayonnaise, and also added some peas. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this is the first time i ever made potato salad. didn't have any green onions so i just used cilantro instead and only had 4 eggs. , i'll use more eggs next time though! it was still really really good. easy to make, i like it and so does my husband. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Made this last night, my hubby and kids loved it. Yummy.I'll make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I added paprika and bacon to mine. Turned out great! Next time, I will have to add a little fresh mustard or mustard powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was excellent potato salad! I had many compliments and requests for the recipe. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes instead of red and I added a bit of mustard---but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Overall quite good! However, I tweaked it a bit (substituted the green pepper for chopped radish and added a little bit of prepared mustard and spices to modify it closer to a family recipe). Without these, I would imagine the salad would be quite bland. The eggs were also a bit too much, which earns the 4 star review, otherwise it would be a 5 if I didn't need to tweak it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States