American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Just as Joslyn mentioned, this is a great basic recipe that can be adjusted accordingly to your own taste. I used only half of the amount of mayo (used light mayo) and added some sour cream. I don't like much eggs, so I omitted them and added pickes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was good but just needs a little something more for us. Probably some crisp fried bacon pieces and perhaps a teaspoon of garlic salt replacing one of the teaspoons of regular salt, 1 cup mayo/1 cup sour cream instead of 2 cups mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Definitely worth the 5 stars. It is also a recipe that you can easily modify to your taste. I added some vinegar to the vegetables before I mixed them in for a bit more pzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrestonSC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This salad is exactly what I was looking for! It is traditional, old fashioned potato salad that reminds me of happy summer days! I did use half the eggs only because I wasn't looking for so much of the egg flavor, but would definitely make this again using the amount the recipe suggests. Thanks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This reminds me of old fashion potato salad! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann Donkel Bier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
very good versatile recipe. You can do anything with this recipe and it turns out great. I added paprika, extra eggs, pickle relish and a dab of mustard. It was the best potato salad I have ever made. Thank You so much for such a versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Hi...im from philippines, i try this recipe and my hubby whos an american really loves it...i add some pickle relish to make more tasty...TRY it u will love it!!!! tha taste is really GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very awesome Potato Salad. I made this last year for Thanksgiving dinner at my fiance's family's house and it was a big hit. The only deviation that I made on the recipe is that I added two tablespoons red wine vinegar. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I usually use a cooked dressing for my potato salad. Have always like mayonnaise dressings but they never quite hit the spot. This recipe is absolutely delicious. Friends took it and leftovers home from our Labor Day Picnic. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I just made this yesterday for a BBQ I had today for like 60 people. All I changed was using some green onion and relish. People loved it and quite a few people said it was one of the best they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States