American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Recipes
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Wow, this was simply dynamite! Easy, followed directions exactly and it turned out fantastic! I'm sure it will be a Super Bowl Party best side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is really a great recipe as written. I dug up potatoes out of our garden and wanted to make some sort of a potato salad with them. I wanted a basic recipe. We didn't have a green pepper so I left that out. My husband and I were both so pleasantly surprised. We ate from our big salad all week long. So delightfully fresher-tasting than the tubbed stuff from the store that everybody seems to bring to potlucks/events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is a terrific recipe, I'ts perfect, The only thing I added was 2 tbls of prepared mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It was VERY good. 5 of us cleaned up this recipe for 12-15 at 1 sitting. I used my own imagination with herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years. I use only red potatoes and after cooking them, cool them in the refrige usually the day before. I mix the mayo with a little milk and add salt, pepper, lawrys, paprika and a little garlic salt and a couple squirts of yellow mustard or more. 2 tsp. of salt sounds like way too much. I omit the green peppers and use about 4 stalks of celery, diced and about 1/4 of an onion diced. Sometimes, I put a little sweet pickle relish in it too. When finished, I sprinkle it with paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great standard recipe - basically use the same exact ingredients just add some dry mustard and the real key is some white vinegar. My potato salad gets requested CONSTANTLY and is one of my nephews favorite foods! It's a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Plain American good! The stuff the young kids like and us older types recall from quick summer lunches and thrown together picnics. We enjoyed the taste of the diced green pepper and will do it again. We use whatever potatoes are cheapest, usually Idaho or whites on the new side. Red potatoes are a buck more a pound here and we just can't like them for that. This recipe just keeps a very fresh, clean taste...a nice break from all the mustards and relishes and who knows what all goes in the bowl with more uptown folks. Some times we put a little fine dice of celery leaf, too. Our home recipe is identical (barring the red spuds and sweet green pepper) from the first heat of May through the end of November...and now we're going to spend the extra for that little green pepper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeythief

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Add a tbl of regular mustard, for a nice flavor and color boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Awesome salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyNews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It needs dill pickles. Add about 4 or 5 dill pickles diced and you'll get the flavor that's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States