American Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I will definitely make it again! It turned out very good. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great base recipe for sure, I added 1/2 cup sour cream as my mom always did and it was absolutely perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the bomb! I did make changes as suggested by Dale's review, and before I even finished it, I was "tasting" a little too much! Changes made: For dressing, mixed Miracle Whip lite with 1/2 Tblsp white wine vinegar, 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp Lawrys seasoning salt,2 Tblsp Famous Daves spicy relish, 1 Tblsp dijon mustard, 2 t salt, 1 tsp black pepper and a sprinkling each of dill weed and garlic powder. I reduced celery to 1 stalk and whirled the peppers and celery in the food processor (my family doesn't care for the texture of big chunks). Next time, I may also add about 1-2 tsp of dry ranch dip mix (we like very flavorful food!). I boiled 2 extra eggs to slice as garnish for the top and sprinkled paprika over the whole lot. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Joslyn for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
we liked it, but it needed more flavor. Will try again though with some tweeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very quick, simple and tastes excellent!! I added a little bit of mustard. My family gobbled this up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kloos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious-my new favorite potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTL45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Yummy dish Joslyn! I left the skin on the potatoes. I also added a bit of mustard, dill relish, parsley and bacon to put it over the top. Everyone loved it, will make again too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This tastes like the potato salad my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this as written, and it was very bland and the flavours unbalanced, like it was missing something vital. Two things I did like about it was the addition of green pepper, and the use of two onions, both scallions and a regular onion. I felt these were both great ideas. But, something was still missing. I went through some of my Fanny Farmer and Betty Crocker cookbooks as well as a few others, and noticed that mustard was one ingredient they all mentioned that this one was missing. So, I added a tablespoon of whole grain mustard. This seemed to balance the flavours out so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
When I use these ingredients for potato salad, I add a T or so of mustard (prefer stone-ground), paprika, and some Italian dressing. The mustard provides the tang and the dressing moistens and gives wonderful flavors. I still use some mayo or salad dressing, along with the other ingredients above. It's always different: sometimes with cayenne and/other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States