American Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnSQ
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Love this recipe... 1 thing I added 1 lb. of sweet Italian sausage and I added 1 Jar of Classico fire roasted tomato & basil pasta sauce. Came out delicious. Cooked it for a hour and 15. And 5 min. Uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Great Lasagna recipe. Made minimal changes. Used Italian Sausage and cut back on the salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Came out great, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaela Russell
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Enjoyed making this for the first time. I swapped out the ground beef with ground turkey and it still tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Russell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was an awesome recipie..Hghly recomended.. I used less salt and added mushrooms to the meat sauce, other then that I canged nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I'm giving this 5 stars with the following changes: - multiply all spices and the sugar by about 1.5X - added a lot more garlic (I love garlic) - add about 250-400ml tomato sauce or red pasta sauce - *** cook about 20-30 min uncovered then another 1 hour lightly covered with foil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dietitian1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have been making this almost identical recipe for the past 45 years - came to by in-laws and called "buffet lasagnia" the only difference in this recipe and mine is the ricotta vs mine of cottage cheese 1% I skip the eggs as see no reason for them in this recipe - Still a great recipe - perhaps I will try mine with the Ricotta instead of the cottage cheese - just to see if it changes it or not. I have prepared this recipe in triple batches when holding my annual re-unions. Do everything but the baking in the oven. I wrap the dishes in several layers of aluminum foil and freeze. On re-union day - I put them in the oven to bake staggered by 20 minutes each which gives a continuing fresh - hot from the oven lasagnia for all 3 - my family loves it and never seems to leave left-overs - served with several large salads - fresh cut sliced beefstake tomatoes - lots of garlic bread and Bob's your uncle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great base recipe for lasagna when made as written. I prefer a less dry lasagna so I added an additional can of tomatoes to the sauce, you can add water if it cooks down too thick. I also prefer to use a mix of mozzarella and provolone cheeses and I use fresh shredded parmasan. I used to boil the noodles, but now my go-to brand is Barilla and their very thin flat no-cook lasagna noodles are so easy, if you make your sauce in advance you can put this together in 10 minutes and bake in 60-75 minutes, which makes this something I can make on a weeknight. And yes, occasionally I used jarred sauce for this very reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made this three separate times. It was amazing each time and my friends have enjoyed it. I could see this recipe being dry only if you drain the diced tomatoes before simmering the meat and spice mixture. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States