American-Italian Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Good! It was a little on the bland side for our tastes as written - added a few additional seasonings to kick it up a notch. Also added grape tomatoes for a splash of color. As the submitter wrote in their review, the amount of peas is a little much. I made half a recipe and only used about a 1/4 cup of peas, which was plenty for us. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
OK, for those who wrote that the pasta was dry, this is what I did: Use one 16 oz. carton of sour cream, 1 cup mayonnaise, 1 package dry Italian dressing mix, 3 tablespoons bottled Italian dressing and mix. Mix in 16 oz. pasta of your choice and refrigerate at least 4 hours. Was not dry for me even the next day, plus the higher ratio of sour cream to mayonnaise made it less mayonnaisy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
To die for...ok..maybe not to die for...but this is really good!! I have made it several times and use different pasta each time. I use a whole bag of petite peas. I don't add onion, due to a 14 year old....I add pepperoni, hard salami, fontina, cheddar, cherry tomatoes, you name it...you can add it...I have made it with and without the fresh parsley. No difference to my family. I like to use the zesty Italian dry mix if I can get it at the store. This is a true keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made this initially for Memorial day bbq and it was AWESOME. Then I made it for a pasta pot luck for some people in my office who were running the "Lawyers Have Heart" race the next day...several people asked for the recipe. Then I made it for a friend's bbq and got rave reviews. Next I'm making it for a housewarming party...Can't get enough of this pasta salad! I didn't change a thing, it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Disappointed. Dry and not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
We made this for Memorial Day and really enjoyed it. We left out the olives just for our own personal preference and used mini penne for the pasta. This was yummy comfort food and a nice side dish to go with grilled burgers. The dressing was great and very creamy. I'm not a huge fan of celery, but they really added a nice crunch to the salad, and I'm glad we left them in. We'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. I made it Saturday and served it Sunday, I do believe it's best to be chilled overnight. I also added tortellini and some cubed cheese. I ended up doubling the dressing for this-it worked out great with my extra add-ins. We all loved this recipe and agreed it was a wonderful change from just using Italian dressing for a pasta salad. Thanks for sharing this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I wasn't able to find Genoa salami, so I used hard salami instead (in the deli meat section). I also had to substitute mini-farfalle (bowtie) pasta for the fusilli, but any pasta will work. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
this gets 5 stars because i usually am not a huge fan of pasta salad, but i loved this! Instead of peas and parsely, i put in broccoli and tomatoes. i didnt have packaged italian dressing, so i just used a few tbsp of italian dressing instead of that and the milk. if it thickens up in the fridge, thats normal, just add a spash of milk! yum thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ Ness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
What a terrific summer salad!! I used Ranch dressing dry-mix instead of the italian dressing. Wouldn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States