American Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made a few tweaks based on reading other posts and it came out pretty good. I only used 2 potatoes and cubed them pretty small and I put them in the skillet with the onions to cook them a little more. I also used a combo of oil and butter for the onions. I also used fresh ground sea salt and garlic pepper for the seasoning. It was my first time making a frittata AND using a cast iron skillet so it was a big night! Overall, good frittata that I'm looking forward to making again and trying different ingredients in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was the first frittata I ever made and it was delicious! A few tips: I had to cook the potatoes for about 15 minutes even though they were chopped into small cubes. Luckily the potatoes I used were fairly small, if they had been large potatoes it would have overpowered the frittata. I also added chopped peppers and some jalopeno for an extra kick. I do not own a cast iron skillet so I used a large pie plate instead (greased with butter), adding the drained potatoes first, followed by a bit of cheese, then the fried onion, peppers, and ham, and topped with the egg mixture. I baked it for about 10 mins before adding more cheese to the top. It took about 25 minutes to fully bake but came out perfect! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I agree with the other reviews that it could use a little zip. My husband suggested using sausage instead of ham would add some flavor. I halved the recipe since it's only two of us and added some fresh mushrooms. I thought it was great and would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I fixed this for dinner, left the meat out and threw in more veggies and cilantro. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I use your recipe more as a guide and it is very helpful. I mix in ham, bacon, broccoli and onion. It turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Easy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A strong solid four stars! To make it better, I threw the potatoes in before the eggs to let them get brown and fry up a bit. I added a lot of salt and pepper and some garlic salt too. Season well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Nice and easy to throw together! The family loved it and I love cooking in my Lodge cookware! I did use. Avon instead of ham... And one could add salsa, extra veggies and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made the recipe to the T, but cut it in 1/2 for just the two of us. Using a 10 inch cast iron skillet, the cooking times were right on. For the full recipe in a 10 inch skillet, it may take a bit longer. I did put it under the broiler for a minute to brown up the cheese just a bit. Great base recipe that you can adjust to fit your tastes by adding more veggies etc. Bacon would taste too. Served with fresh, home-grown tomatoes and an English muffin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Tasted fantastic! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States