American French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The technique of baking the onions and finishing them on the stove is genius and gave me time to get other things done. Layering the flavors intensifies the deliciousness (deglazing the pan with vinegar and wine). The consistency of the soup was perfect. I used balsamic vinegar and red wine in place of the sherry and asiago and gruyere in place of the sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack I used more thyme and a bay leaf in the stock. We had Caesar salad with it and a glass of Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is the best onion soup I have made so far. Will make it again, and again for sure!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Complete and total awesomeness! The 2 hours plus of cooking is totally worth it because it cooks down to this thick and rich broth that is so restaurant worthy. I did miss the traditional cheese on top but what's stopping me? Not a thing. I love it...it's the best french onion I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
did not change a bit super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the best french onion soup! The whole house smells warm and inviting long after the onions have come out of the oven. Simple and easy to follow video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This had a really good flavor to it. I didn't make it with the bread because I was already making grilled cheese for my son although I will have to try it the original way. I have never made french onion soup, I was glad for the easy instructions but it was a very time consuming recipe. Apparently this was the less time consuming version so I'm glad that I chose it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is a wonderfully flavored soup and the diced onions and onion baking shortcuts are definitely a plus over traditional French onion soup. Of the three soups I served tonight, this was the least popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Thank you for a tasty recipe! This was yummy. It's definitely not a traditional french onion, but it was a nice change of pace! I think my onions were a little big, because there were a lot in there, but the broth was soooo good! Easy to make too! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States