American Chop Suey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Actually,1/16 of a Star. Homeless Shelter fare?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent, simple recipe. Highly recommended as provided by April. Also easy to change to personal preferences. Thank you for posting this, April.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this the other night but made two changes. The first change I substituted ground sausage for the ground beef. The second change - I used my favorite jarred sauce. We really enjoyed the taste of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Oops. Small tweaks that add flavor. 2lbs ground beef, 3 cans condensed tomato soup, salt, pepper, garlic powder. Brown the meat with the onions and seasonings (to taste). The third can of soup keeps it from getting dry. Once it is mixed turn the burn to low add more seasoning to taste and stir. Ready after about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A great comfort food. I had this growing up, except we used hot dogs rather than ground beef. We sliced the hot dogs and fried them in a little oil with the onions. Kids love this. Bland? Not to kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I started out with this recipe but it ended up being very different. I only had one can of tomato soup so I took a large can of tomato sauce and whisked a package of chili seasoning mix into the sauce before pouring it into the mixture. I also added a can of black beans and diced tomatoes and used tri-color pasta instead of plain macaroni. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Yount Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
It was good, I used Johnsonville sausage and that gave it a ton of flavor, although with hamburger this may have been bland. I added fresh grated parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I grew up on this recipe and knew it as goulash, and it is a well loved dish in my home today. I give this recipe 4 stars as written (it lacks green peppers-->flavor). After reading reviews, I tried it with the following changes: added green peppers, used celery because I was out of onion, Worcestershire sauce, onion powder since I was out of onion, dropped one can of soup for a can of petit diced tomatoes, and added chopped pepperoni ... And oh my! Still the same comfort food feel as what I grew up with and have made for years, but the pepperoni bits really added a flavor that I hadn't realized it was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I grew up on this dish as a kid and loved it! I use 1-2 cans of whole tomatoes cut chunky in the pot. I also just add the elbow macaroni directly into the hamburg onion tomato mixture and cook until tender. So the macaroni cooks in the tomato juice. Easy and yummy. If it gets thick, add some tomato juice or V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was great I added a few things. I sauté a diced onion in a little EVOO and add a diced red bell and Green pepper to that a TBL of sugar and caramelize. I then brown ground beef and add a TBL of sugar to that and add together with two cans of diced tomatos cook over med heat for 10 minutes then add it to sauce pan with elbows and add a small jar of marinara sauce heat on low for 15 minute for flavors to sink in. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States