American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
THE BEST APPLE PIE! I've been using this recipe for the past 2 years. It is always a hit. I sometimes mix different apples and leave out the raisins. I've even used a mixture of pears and apples and still couldn't ruin the recipe. My relatives beg me to make this pie as gifts for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
We loved this pie...The only thing I changed was I only used about 6 cups of apples and added an extra pinch of cinnamon...I will be using it again, and again, and again... K J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Uncomplicated...however, I increased sugars to 1/2 cup each, and cinnamon to 1/2 heaping tsp...I'm not much of a pie baker, but actually succeeded with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This pie was awesome! Next time I'll use less apples because it was just TOO full and a bit of the juice spilled over but I latticed the crust (from a store bought pack), brushed it with milk and sprinkled sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerChick01
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I enjoyed making this pie as well as eating it! It states that the baking time is 35-40 minutes, however my pie was ready in 25 minutes so check on your pie often because ovens vary. I also minimized the number of cups of apples to 4 because I didn't want the pie to overflow with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I can rate only 3 stars for the original recipe. the taste was good. But the baking time was not enough and resulting pie was runny. I made it a second time with another tablespoon of flour and some cinnamon and baked at 425 for 15 minutes and then at 350 for 40 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I've made several apple pie recipes over the years but something about this pie set it apart. Very simple and honest, nothing fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This pie was a hit at thanksgiving. My husbands mother thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful pie! Not sure how people give it a low rating for raisins, American Apple pies HAVE them in it!!! If you want one without then just make Apple pie, very easy. I did add some corn starch to make the inside thicker. Then I added more cinnamon, added clove & nutmeg. Then a little butter before I put the top crust on. & I did not cute back on the apples, I think it is a perfect amount. Baked at 375 tho for 50 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I made one pie with only gala apples, and the other with granny smith. I also made one with three different kinds of apples. They all turnded out good. It all depends on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States