American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This recipe is really good -- I am allergic to dairy, eggs and lemon, and don't like raisins in my apple pie, so I took those out, and this apple pie came out truly awesome. Last change I made -- I add half a packet of dried apple cider mix to this, and it evens out the tartness of the apples, and adds spice. The cider mix is by Alpine. I appreciate the fact that you don't use butter to thicken the apples. Granny Smith apples have an incredible flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
We loved this pie...The only thing I changed was I only used about 6 cups of apples and added an extra pinch of cinnamon...I will be using it again, and again, and again... K J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
It was OK. Just a little doughy. I've baked pies before, this was not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This pie was awesome! Next time I'll use less apples because it was just TOO full and a bit of the juice spilled over but I latticed the crust (from a store bought pack), brushed it with milk and sprinkled sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Best apple pie i've ever had! I omit the raisins. My family begs me to make this for every family get together, and needless to say, there's never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This was the very first and will be the only apple pie recipe I use. I used it because of its simplicity. I changed it a little though, taking out the lemon juice and the raisons. I use 1 1/2 tsp. of apple pie spice instead of the spices listed, but either way it is good. Also, the Philsbury crust is perfect with this. I use an apple peeler-corer-slicer. This is the only way to make apple pies! I am known for my apple pies because of this recipe. Thank you Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Very Good! i have made this a few times a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe. I have struggled to find a good Apple Pie Recipe and this is the one. Everyone I gave pie to raved about it and said I should go into business. I think the trick is also homemade pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Very, very good. My father is very picky about his apple pie, and he really liked this pie. I did not add the raisin because he would not have eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This pie was a hit at thanksgiving. My husbands mother thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States