American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
We loved this pie...The only thing I changed was I only used about 6 cups of apples and added an extra pinch of cinnamon...I will be using it again, and again, and again... K J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This pie was a hit at thanksgiving. My husbands mother thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
It was OK. Just a little doughy. I've baked pies before, this was not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This recipe is really good -- I am allergic to dairy, eggs and lemon, and don't like raisins in my apple pie, so I took those out, and this apple pie came out truly awesome. Last change I made -- I add half a packet of dried apple cider mix to this, and it evens out the tartness of the apples, and adds spice. The cider mix is by Alpine. I appreciate the fact that you don't use butter to thicken the apples. Granny Smith apples have an incredible flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This pie was awesome! Next time I'll use less apples because it was just TOO full and a bit of the juice spilled over but I latticed the crust (from a store bought pack), brushed it with milk and sprinkled sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Best apple pie i've ever had! I omit the raisins. My family begs me to make this for every family get together, and needless to say, there's never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This was the very first and will be the only apple pie recipe I use. I used it because of its simplicity. I changed it a little though, taking out the lemon juice and the raisons. I use 1 1/2 tsp. of apple pie spice instead of the spices listed, but either way it is good. Also, the Philsbury crust is perfect with this. I use an apple peeler-corer-slicer. This is the only way to make apple pies! I am known for my apple pies because of this recipe. Thank you Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Delaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Very Good! i have made this a few times a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe. I have struggled to find a good Apple Pie Recipe and this is the one. Everyone I gave pie to raved about it and said I should go into business. I think the trick is also homemade pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Very, very good. My father is very picky about his apple pie, and he really liked this pie. I did not add the raisin because he would not have eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States