American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I haven't made home-made pie for years, but gave this recipe a shot. The flavor was really good and the apples tender without being mushy. I increased the cinnamon and also added nutmeg and cloves. However, I think if I make it again I will use less apples. There wasn't enough "filling" around the apples to give the pie a nice texture even though, as I said, the flavor was really good. Much of the juice in the pie ran out when I cut it, which added to the texture being off. I will try this one again with less apples, maybe some cornstarch, and probably different crust recipe (or store-bought crust if I'm feeling lazy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe! I used a box of Jiffy pie crust mix for the crust, elimiated the raisins only because my husbands hates raisins, and I added a bit more flour along with 1/8 cup of apple cider. This pie recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I had some trouble with this: my filling didnt "set" at all, it was runny as hell...maybe i should have used more flour? it looked bad, but tasted good. I will try it again, but tweak the filling a little to see if i can get it right. Nothing wrong with the recipe, i just didnt get it right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katdarling22
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I never made a apple pie before and I followed this recipe exactly. I used read-made dough. It was very good!!! My young kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe after reading all the rave reviews, and I'm sorry to say I was VERY disappointed. I used my own piecrust recipe, but otherwise followed this recipe exacttly. The raisins were out of place, and there was not enough sugar or spice for me or my family, which is too bad, because we all love good pie. I definitely will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
The American Pie recipe was a big hit with my family. Everyone ranted and raved about it. I am making it for thanksgiving and any other time we all feel like a great apple pie. Definitely a keeper and added to my recipe cards. Thank you for a great recipe. Kathy.P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
great recipe because the apples are nice,tart and tangy swweet and juicy u really should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This is the best pie I have ever tasted. It was easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turbotville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Best apple pie that I have ever eaten. My motsher makes good apple pies but this tops it. The raisans in it make it stand out. Didn't know about them at first but they defintly add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States