American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
It is perfect in its simplicity. Soaking raisins in rum adds some more flavor to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andriy Moraru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Prefer more cinnamon and sugar, and NO raisins. Maybe because when growing up the only two pies my Mom ever made were pumpkin and raisin. It's a very pretty pie, and I notice a lot of folks loved it. I'm just not into the raisins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This pie is delicious and hit a home run with my hubby. It's easy to make and easy to eat. :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious! We used 1/2t cinnamon. I would like to try soaking the raisins in apple cider/juice in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
the recipe is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was wondering whether or not my wife and I would enjoy the raisins. We both thought that they worked pretty well. Just to make it work, size-wise, I used a little over 6 cups of apples, 1/2 cup of raisins, but kept the spice mixture the same as the recipe. The filling was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My fiance makes this recipe and it is the best. Love it no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful pie! Not sure how people give it a low rating for raisins, American Apple pies HAVE them in it!!! If you want one without then just make Apple pie, very easy. I did add some corn starch to make the inside thicker. Then I added more cinnamon, added clove & nutmeg. Then a little butter before I put the top crust on. & I did not cute back on the apples, I think it is a perfect amount. Baked at 375 tho for 50 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I made one pie with only gala apples, and the other with granny smith. I also made one with three different kinds of apples. They all turnded out good. It all depends on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerChick01
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I enjoyed making this pie as well as eating it! It states that the baking time is 35-40 minutes, however my pie was ready in 25 minutes so check on your pie often because ovens vary. I also minimized the number of cups of apples to 4 because I didn't want the pie to overflow with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States