American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Prefer more cinnamon and sugar, and NO raisins. Maybe because when growing up the only two pies my Mom ever made were pumpkin and raisin. It's a very pretty pie, and I notice a lot of folks loved it. I'm just not into the raisins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This pie is delicious and hit a home run with my hubby. It's easy to make and easy to eat. :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious! We used 1/2t cinnamon. I would like to try soaking the raisins in apple cider/juice in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
the recipe is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was wondering whether or not my wife and I would enjoy the raisins. We both thought that they worked pretty well. Just to make it work, size-wise, I used a little over 6 cups of apples, 1/2 cup of raisins, but kept the spice mixture the same as the recipe. The filling was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My fiance makes this recipe and it is the best. Love it no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful pie! Not sure how people give it a low rating for raisins, American Apple pies HAVE them in it!!! If you want one without then just make Apple pie, very easy. I did add some corn starch to make the inside thicker. Then I added more cinnamon, added clove & nutmeg. Then a little butter before I put the top crust on. & I did not cute back on the apples, I think it is a perfect amount. Baked at 375 tho for 50 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe. I made one pie with only gala apples, and the other with granny smith. I also made one with three different kinds of apples. They all turnded out good. It all depends on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerChick01
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I enjoyed making this pie as well as eating it! It states that the baking time is 35-40 minutes, however my pie was ready in 25 minutes so check on your pie often because ovens vary. I also minimized the number of cups of apples to 4 because I didn't want the pie to overflow with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I can rate only 3 stars for the original recipe. the taste was good. But the baking time was not enough and resulting pie was runny. I made it a second time with another tablespoon of flour and some cinnamon and baked at 425 for 15 minutes and then at 350 for 40 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States