Amena's Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These turned out absolutely perfect. I made this with my two boys this morning so we could bring a random act of kindness to their babysitter. We only made one change and that was upping the vanilla to a full teaspoon. I didn't really measure the chips out, I just used the random amounts I had in each bag that I had leftover from other cookies. I made no other changes. These turned out wonderfully. We baked the cookies at 350 degrees and they were done in exactly ten minutes. The boys really liked the different chips in this cookie and it was great for me because I could use up the little bits I had in my cupboard in each chip bag PLUS it made the perfect amount--neither too much or too little. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I am not bashful about calling it as I see it, assigning a low star rating to a recipe if I feel it warrants it. I know Chef John has quite an avid following but frankly, I don’t get it. I’ve tried a few of his recipes (which are fairly basic and generic in most instances anyway) and have been less than impressed every time, particularly since he is a “professional” and not a home cook. In this case, I found these cookies, simply put, greasy and unattractive. Further, they are only a very slight variation of the Toll House Cookie, the only difference being that he slightly increases the ratio of white sugar to brown sugar, a very negligible difference in the overall outcome. I took a bite out of fairness for the purpose of this review but did not continue – then again, if you like the greasy and sort of flattish Nestle Toll House cookie, you’ll like this one too as it’s essentially the same recipe. Hubs was a little more favorable than I, saying they were edible, but “not like your grandma makes.” Note: also, for the purpose of submitting the best possible photo of these cookies, I selected a few of the better looking ones. Most did not look as good as the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was such a good cookie recipe! Loved that it uses different flavor chips. the cookie part was very good too, not too sweet. I doubled the recipe and everyone was fighting over the cookies. they couldn't come out of the oven fast enough. my cookies didn't spread that much they kind of stayed in drop form, after the first pan came out and I realized that, it was an easy fix by flattening the cookie slightly with a cup before putting in the oven. this will be my new go to recipe for chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and thought these turned out as good as you could hope for. The choco-chip to batter ratio was just fine if you ask me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Let me start with....I'm a very novice baker!! And this was a great recipe for me! I even made a few modifications & they turned out great! I realized half way through making them that I didn't have any vanilla extract so I substituted maple syrup 1:1 (& not even the "real" stuff!) and I couldn't tell the difference. I also split the recipe in half after I made it so I could some some cocoa powder to one batch & mint extract to the other. Both versions turned out really good although I could have used a little more cocoa in my chocolatey chocolate cookies! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a good recipe to use up leftover chips. I think that the recipe needs more than one cup total chips, though. I added dried cranberries and still thought that the chip to dough ratio was a bit sparse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I'll start with this.... I'm a simple cooker! These cookies are delicious, my family loves them, and I do too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkIeMoNsTeR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I'm no great cook, but this was an easy and great recipe for me. I made them for a friend--and she loved it. Thanks for sharing it! I know I'll make these again. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe at least 4 times this month and each batch has been a success!! A definite favorite in my household & will be one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msblkhoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States