Amena's Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I am not bashful about calling it as I see it, assigning a low star rating to a recipe if I feel it warrants it. I know Chef John has quite an avid following but frankly, I don’t get it. I’ve tried a few of his recipes (which are fairly basic and generic in most instances anyway) and have been less than impressed every time, particularly since he is a “professional” and not a home cook. In this case, I found these cookies, simply put, greasy and unattractive. Further, they are only a very slight variation of the Toll House Cookie, the only difference being that he slightly increases the ratio of white sugar to brown sugar, a very negligible difference in the overall outcome. I took a bite out of fairness for the purpose of this review but did not continue – then again, if you like the greasy and sort of flattish Nestle Toll House cookie, you’ll like this one too as it’s essentially the same recipe. Hubs was a little more favorable than I, saying they were edible, but “not like your grandma makes.” Note: also, for the purpose of submitting the best possible photo of these cookies, I selected a few of the better looking ones. Most did not look as good as the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I always add a package of dry instant vanilla pudding mix to my cookies. I would rate 5 stars but I did make this one change which made this cookie a 10 star! LOVED IT! I will definitely make these again...but maybe not very often because we ate them all...I'll definitely need another workout this week:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
As always with chef John it was amazing. They were all eaten before they even cooled. Had to mix up a second batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My family has made this three times. Each time they turned out as heavenly awesomeness with chocolate chips!! These cookies are the way cookies should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
easy to make it, sooooo yummy. i used pecans too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sau0124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Best cookies we've ever had! And I baked them! haha:) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I make this frequently. It's in a Williams Sonoma cookbook. It's everybody's most favorite!!! It is a very thin cookie but the best I've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I think it needed a bit more flour and I chilled the dough. Cookies were very flat, not looking like the picture. That seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE these cookies, but I've made them about 10 times now and they never cook in 10 minutes like the recipe says. I usually leave them in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
No more electric mixer....yea! and these cookies are delish :-) Thanks Amena and John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States