Amelia's Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I tried this per the recipe first and it was ok. I prefer a less "sweet" flavor. I made the following changes for the second batch to suit our personal tastes. The changes I made were - 1 1/2 cups frozen fresh peas - put into the pot with the macaroni, just before I drained it. Then ran everything under cold water in a strainer to cool it quickly. I sliced several green onions and added diced dill pickle. I used only 2/3 cup mayo thinned with a little dill pickle juice and mixed in a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar - this made the "dressing" creamier. In addition to the sprinkle of paprika, I added a sprinkle of dried dill and cracked black pepper. I refrigerated it for 4 hours and the flavor was wonderful. Next time I will add some shredded or diced cheddar cheese to it as well. Thank you for the basics Peach822, it's a great stepping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I left out the onions but loved everything else. This is the way macaroni salad is supposed to taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Just O.K. nothing special. Tried to jazz it up a bit, but not a favorite of this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used frozen baby peas. just put them in the saled they will unthaw by the time you eat the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is one of the best tuna salad recipes I have ever tried. We have a farm and I feed everyone a large lunch everyday. When teenage boys gobble it up you know you have a real winner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBSPENCER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is okay, but needs some additions to make it great. I doubled up on the onion, celery and tuna. I also added corn instead of peas since I didn't have any. We couldn't taste the relish, so I added some cubed pickles and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is definately a great basic recipe. Everybody's tastes are different and this is a good starting point. Things can be added or deleted to suit your family's taste buds. Even as is, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is a very easy salad to make to bring to a picnic, or just at home for your own family. I omitted the peas, but everything else was the same. i think the pickle relish is the trick that makes it different from other salads. This salad is a favorite in my house all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
My husband hates macaroni salad. My family loves the one I make and they ask me to make it at every family function. I decided that I would try something new to make for my husband so he might finally decide he likes mac salad. It took every ounce of energy for me to not take a big bowl for myself and eat it right there and then. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I realized I only had a little bit of relish left, so I decided to dice up a pickle. I filled each TBLS with the finely diced pickle and then filled the rest of the spoon with the pickle juice. I did this twice, the recipe called for 2 TBLS of relish. I decided to add 2 diced eggs to the salad and I boiled 4 more and made deviled eggs as a garnish. I had to add a litte more mayo and I think the reason is because I had a 16oz box of macaroni. I guessed at the 12oz measurement, but I may have been over a little bit. This recipe is perfect. I can't wait for my hubby to try it tomorrow. I think this might be one that he finally likes :) I will post again tomorrow and give his opinion. I think it is absolutely delicious. *edited to add... My husband LOVED IT! I finally asked him what he thought. "I like it. It's pretty good." That's a 5 star rating coming from him. I promised to make this mac salad from now on. He hates Macaroni salad so if he liked it, well you decide from there. BTW everyone else raved about it. It was really good. This is gonna be my signature mac salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Soucie Belloise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States