Amelia's Slow Cooker Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I have made this several times and it's always a big hit!! Many have said that the taste is too vinegar like, personally that is one of the things I like about it. I would rather call it more of a tangy taste. I will definitely continue to make this version of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My honey is very picky about brunswick stew and he loved this one. Next time i will add a touch of cumin or look for a smoky steak sauce to cut a bit of the sweetness but it is really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My husband's mother use to make him brunswick stew when he was little and it was his favoriate. I looked up brunswick stew and found hundreds of recipes. I questioned him on his Mom's version to make it as close to her as I could and this was it! i have made this at least 50 times and it is always a big hit. I did make a few changes. I leave out the ribs completely. I sautee onions and green peppers in olive oil and put them right into the slow cooker. Also, a huge short cut, I buy two rotissarie chickens and just pull all the chicken right from the bone (this saves sooo much time)! Put the chicken in the crock pot along with all the other ingredients. I also double all the ingredients (still only using two rotissarie chickens)to have a full crock pot and have enough to freeze.This is just GREAT! Everyone tasting it always wants the recipe and very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was a hit in my family. I stayed true to the recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Most authentic flavor I have gotten. I used KC BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup and steak sauce. I also put in the remains of a beef roast. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
was easy to make didn't add the lime bean i use 57 sauce still was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Love this Stew! I added some Shredded carrot and chopped celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My favorite go to Brunswick Stew. I have had nothing but raves from the version. I usually wait until I cook a Boston Butt, and use leftover meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I grew up in Georgia, and Brunswick Stew was a staple. I have wanted to make it for myself, but I have always been intimidated by the process. I followed this recipe at first, but as it was cooking, and I did taste tests, I found it to be sweet as others have mentioned. I added a little cumin, 4-5 cloves of fresh garlic, more black pepper, some sea salt, and cayenne pepper. These additions definitely tamed the sweetness without compromising the genuine flavor of the stew. I am glad I found this one! My husband, who had never even heard of Brunswick Stew, is a huge fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was really good, DH loved it. I used pulled pork instead of the ribs as I had it leftover in the fridge. A little too salty for me (maybe cut back on the A1 next time). I served it over biscuits..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States