Amelia's Slow Cooker Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was really good, DH loved it. I used pulled pork instead of the ribs as I had it leftover in the fridge. A little too salty for me (maybe cut back on the A1 next time). I served it over biscuits..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This stew wasn't very impressive, it seemed too sweet and not very tasty, my husband didn't like it at all. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I like this and so does my family I well make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was the closest recipe I could find to what my Honey grew up with. He loves it! I leave out the ribs. There is plenty of shredded chicken that it isnt missed and it cuts way down on the fat. I actually made this for Christmas day and the entire family wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I agree that it is very close to the original. Used shredded pork also, instead of the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Good and easy. I did think it was too strong on the steak sauce. I will only put 1/3 of that in next time. I also added a few tablespoons of butter. Very good for a crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My honey is very picky about brunswick stew and he loved this one. Next time i will add a touch of cumin or look for a smoky steak sauce to cut a bit of the sweetness but it is really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My husband's mother use to make him brunswick stew when he was little and it was his favoriate. I looked up brunswick stew and found hundreds of recipes. I questioned him on his Mom's version to make it as close to her as I could and this was it! i have made this at least 50 times and it is always a big hit. I did make a few changes. I leave out the ribs completely. I sautee onions and green peppers in olive oil and put them right into the slow cooker. Also, a huge short cut, I buy two rotissarie chickens and just pull all the chicken right from the bone (this saves sooo much time)! Put the chicken in the crock pot along with all the other ingredients. I also double all the ingredients (still only using two rotissarie chickens)to have a full crock pot and have enough to freeze.This is just GREAT! Everyone tasting it always wants the recipe and very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was a hit in my family. I stayed true to the recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Most authentic flavor I have gotten. I used KC BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup and steak sauce. I also put in the remains of a beef roast. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States