Ambrosian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I found the pineapple and marmalade a bit too sweet in this recipe - also it was very hard to make sure the chicken was properly cooked without the coconut burning and the coconut ended up becoming quite black and unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
very good! The dipping sauce was a little sweet, but the chicken was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BTRICH
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious! The husband loved it as he is a coconut freak! Dipping sauce was really yummy. It's basically a different take on your basic breadcrumb fried chicken strips. Super easy and something with a different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I thought 3 cups was too much for this recipe. I used Greek yogurt, and unseasoned panko, it did taste bland, and too soggy to eat. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great recipe, very easy and quick. I made some of my chicken with the yogurt sauce as directed and some with a mixture of honey, orange marmalade, crushed pineapple, the almond extract, red pepper flakes and egg due to my husband's no dairy diet. I also used that mixture (minus the egg) for his dipping sauce. I also didn't follow the cooking directions. I cooked mine at 400 for about 9 minutes then flipped for another 9 to 12 minutes, the coating came out toasty. My son loved the yogurt sauce but didn't really eat much of the chicken. I served this recipe with homemade sweet potato fries and fresh cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I like the dipping sauce and how the yogurt made the chicken moist despite the time taken to bake them. However, taste wise, I think it is alright. Probably not something I will make again but I enjoyed trying this out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wonderfully juicy and healthy!! I can't even begin to tell you how many coconut chicken recipes have tried and this one is by far my favorite! It's easy, I have most of the ingredients around the kitchen and it can be pre-made and go into the fridge before putting it in the oven. A few slight changes- I added garlic powder, ginger powder, and chili powder to the yogurt mixture to give it a little kick. The yogurt keeps the chicken SO moist you actually think your chicken is undercooked because it's so juicy! I even used Gluten Free Panko crumbs and it still turned out crispy and amazing. I paired this with brown rice cooked in light coconut milk and stir fried green beans with fresh garlic and fresh ginger drizzled with honey. What an easy weeknight meal for me and the hubby. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
didn't have plain yogurt so I used sour cream in place of it. Let me say this is one of our new favorites! Both the kids and I LOVED this! It is easy to make and I will be making it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this. I used 1 chicken breast and pounded it to about an inch thick, dipped it in egg(per user review) and coated it in the panko coconut mixture. I used the baking method and it came out perfect! I didn't use the sauce however, I have a sauce I use for coconut shrimp (I had those ingred. on hand) its just orange marmalade dijion mustard and honey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Hubby loved this - I loved the chicken but not so much the sauce. I will admit to not measuring the amount of Panko and coconut....this is how I cook.... don't crowd the chicken - for the edges to get crispy they need some room. I served this with Apple Jicama coleslaw, from this site, and some grilled peppers and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States