Ambrosian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved the idea but way too much coconut and the coating stayed soggy due to the yogurt--the kids scraped off all the coating. Will make again but plan to decrease the coconut to 1/2 cup (3:1 panko to coconut ratio), coat the chicken in egg instead of yogurt, and add a bit of salt to the panko. My husband and I liked the yogurt dipping sauce but the kids not so much--they could eat without or come up with another sweet/savory sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very Good! The only change I made was to use standard breadcrumbs, since that's what I had on hand. I was surprised how much I enjoyed the dipping sauce. A sweet meal, so be sure to pair it with appropriate side dishes to balance. We had basmati rice and a cucumber & tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was soooooo delicious! I had stuffing on hand so I used the food processor to grind it up. I also added pineapple to the liquid mixture that you dredge the chicken through. I made two different chx recipes from the site at the same time. They were both good but this one got the thumbs up from my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Hubby loved this - I loved the chicken but not so much the sauce. I will admit to not measuring the amount of Panko and coconut....this is how I cook.... don't crowd the chicken - for the edges to get crispy they need some room. I served this with Apple Jicama coleslaw, from this site, and some grilled peppers and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wonderfully juicy and healthy!! I can't even begin to tell you how many coconut chicken recipes have tried and this one is by far my favorite! It's easy, I have most of the ingredients around the kitchen and it can be pre-made and go into the fridge before putting it in the oven. A few slight changes- I added garlic powder, ginger powder, and chili powder to the yogurt mixture to give it a little kick. The yogurt keeps the chicken SO moist you actually think your chicken is undercooked because it's so juicy! I even used Gluten Free Panko crumbs and it still turned out crispy and amazing. I paired this with brown rice cooked in light coconut milk and stir fried green beans with fresh garlic and fresh ginger drizzled with honey. What an easy weeknight meal for me and the hubby. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I really enjoyed this. I used 1 chicken breast and pounded it to about an inch thick, dipped it in egg(per user review) and coated it in the panko coconut mixture. I used the baking method and it came out perfect! I didn't use the sauce however, I have a sauce I use for coconut shrimp (I had those ingred. on hand) its just orange marmalade dijion mustard and honey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
didn't have plain yogurt so I used sour cream in place of it. Let me say this is one of our new favorites! Both the kids and I LOVED this! It is easy to make and I will be making it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great recipe, very easy and quick. I made some of my chicken with the yogurt sauce as directed and some with a mixture of honey, orange marmalade, crushed pineapple, the almond extract, red pepper flakes and egg due to my husband's no dairy diet. I also used that mixture (minus the egg) for his dipping sauce. I also didn't follow the cooking directions. I cooked mine at 400 for about 9 minutes then flipped for another 9 to 12 minutes, the coating came out toasty. My son loved the yogurt sauce but didn't really eat much of the chicken. I served this recipe with homemade sweet potato fries and fresh cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Made as written (scaled down for 2 people) and it was a hit with my husband. He used both "awesome" and "keeper". He esp loved the dip. That being said, it should be noted that he has a very large sweet tooth, so this may not be for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I found the pineapple and marmalade a bit too sweet in this recipe - also it was very hard to make sure the chicken was properly cooked without the coconut burning and the coconut ended up becoming quite black and unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States