Ambrosia Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I first fell in love with ambrosia salad a couple years ago when my sister's mother-in-law made it. So i finally got this recipe for thanksgiving this year and LOVED it! I think the other reviewers are right though maybe less whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I served this with Easter dinner and everybody had seconds. I used an 8 oz. container of Cool Whip instead of the 16 oz. It was perfect consistency. Also I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the oranges or not so I played it safe and drained them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made this for a picnic and it was very good. I think using half the whipped topping is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Great Recipe, but had to omit some ingredients so husband could eat it. I used the mandarin oranges, pineapple, marshmallows, and added bananas to individual bowls. Since the banana turns it's color overnight. I also substituted sourcream instead of whipped topping. I really enjoyed having this with my meal for dinner, as well as husband. Easy & Fast to make. Will make recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was really yummy! If you add a small box of orange jello mix, it gives it a tint of orange color and a good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
the coconut and didn't miss it. Used extra pineapple. Also used about 12 oz of cool whip instead of 16oz. Some reviews recommended half, but I did not find this to be enough cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This has become one of my husband's favorite summetime desserts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Wonderful! I used a 15-oz. can of mandarin oranges instead of 11 oz., and a 20-oz. can of pineapple *chunks* instead of 8 oz. crushed (reserving liquid) - would make those changes again. I added 1/2 cup pineapple juice to the final salad. Note that 1 cup of cherries is equal to a 10-oz. bottle (be sure and drain it). I left out the whipped topping - just a personal preference. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I used the juice from the pineapple and oranges to coat the bananas before I put them in with the rest of the mixture, so the bananas wouldn't turn brown. Left out the nuts (don't like them) and cherries and used low-fat cool whip. Everyone loved it and it stayed good for several days in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was a big hit at my niece's babyshower and in my daughter's class. I made a few changes that really went over well. I left out the bananas and used strawberry whipped topping and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sewanda Straughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States