Ambrosia Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I used half the whipped topping, omitted the bananas, added grapes, and used pineapple chunks instead of crushed pineapple. It was delicious and just like the one my grandma used to make. Definitely a keeper for future family get togethers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I served this with Easter dinner and everybody had seconds. I used an 8 oz. container of Cool Whip instead of the 16 oz. It was perfect consistency. Also I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the oranges or not so I played it safe and drained them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was really yummy! If you add a small box of orange jello mix, it gives it a tint of orange color and a good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Great Recipe, but had to omit some ingredients so husband could eat it. I used the mandarin oranges, pineapple, marshmallows, and added bananas to individual bowls. Since the banana turns it's color overnight. I also substituted sourcream instead of whipped topping. I really enjoyed having this with my meal for dinner, as well as husband. Easy & Fast to make. Will make recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I first fell in love with ambrosia salad a couple years ago when my sister's mother-in-law made it. So i finally got this recipe for thanksgiving this year and LOVED it! I think the other reviewers are right though maybe less whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I used the juice from the pineapple and oranges to coat the bananas before I put them in with the rest of the mixture, so the bananas wouldn't turn brown. Left out the nuts (don't like them) and cherries and used low-fat cool whip. Everyone loved it and it stayed good for several days in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Wonderful! I used a 15-oz. can of mandarin oranges instead of 11 oz., and a 20-oz. can of pineapple *chunks* instead of 8 oz. crushed (reserving liquid) - would make those changes again. I added 1/2 cup pineapple juice to the final salad. Note that 1 cup of cherries is equal to a 10-oz. bottle (be sure and drain it). I left out the whipped topping - just a personal preference. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Delicious! My mom & brothers fought over the last bites! I cut down on the marshmallows & whipped cream by about half & it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made this for a picnic and it was very good. I think using half the whipped topping is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was good. I think the recipe calls for way, way too much whipped topping. I used an 8 oz container of Cool Whip because I didn't realize the recipe called for a 16 oz container and I thought that was too much. So it would have been major overkill if I had actually used what the recipe called for. I think 4 oz would probably be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States