Ambrosia Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is a wonderful taste, however my advice is to use name brand fruit cans like Delmonte or Dole. I made it once with generic cans of fruit and it was blah. Otherwise it's great. I also used a can of tropical fruits and that tasted better, a little more variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giancarla
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent flavor and combination of ingredients! I let my teenage daughter make it and she had a blast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Used walnuts instead of pecans, used 1/2 whipped topping and 1/2 sour cream, and added a can of fruit cocktail....excellent!! Don't see ambrosia salad with bananas in it....this is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this salad yesterday and its fabulous! I did what another reviewer said about coating the bananas first in the juice from the pineapple. I did change a couple things. I used pineapple tidbits and grapes. I also didn't have mini marshmellows so I cut them into small pieces. Additionally, I used low fat store brand cool whip and from reviewers suggestion, I bought the 8oz container and didn't even use all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great recipe though I made some changes. I drained the mandarin oranges (wasn't specified in recipe), used pineapple tidbits since I didn't have the crushed on hand, and used only 8 ounces (small container) of whipped topping. This was really great and received many complements. I think 16 ounces of whipped topping would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very easy recipe! Followed everything exactly as written. Reminded of my great-aunt's Ambrosia Salad from when I was growing up. This will be a staple at large dinners for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very yummy recipe! I added a few tbls. of sour cream too! Very good, better than candy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yummy! I used chunked pineapple, omitted the bananas and pecans added halved grapes and reduced the whipped topping to 8oz. I also added some of the fruit juice. The only thing I might do differently next time is reduce the amount of coconut so the texture isn't so overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
There's two great things about ambrosia salad. One, you can make it out of what you have on hand (usually most people have the ingredients in their kitchen at any given time) and two, it's a reminder for most people of holiday's past. I used one large banana (tossed with a little lemon juice to keep the banana pieces from browning), added a little sour cream and omitted the coconut. I also used multi-colored marshmallows. This will go well with my turkey dinner tonight. So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a delicious fruit salad, but only after I made some changes. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks, a 15 oz can of mandarin oranges, 1 banana helved lengthwise then sliced, 1 1/2 cups sliced strawberries (I'm not a fan of maraschno cherries) and 1 cup flaked coconut. For the dressing, I used an electric mixer to whip together 2 cups low fat sour cream, 1/3 cup Splenda and 1 tsp vanilla (instead of Cool Whip and narshmallows). I gently mised this all together and chilled the salad for about 3 hours before sering. It was delicious!! Next time, I will cut down on the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups or less. I omitted the nuts this time for the sake of a guest who has a tree nut allergy. But, I'll add them if serving this to my family. Now I have a recipe for a very good fruit salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States