Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I am not sure if it is personal taste but we thought there was just too much coconut in this. 1-1/2 cups would be plenty for us. We will also omit the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Simply delicious! I did change a few things. I just put 1 cup of coconut flakes, added another 1/2 cup walnuts, added frozen blueberries, and just used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine C. Valencia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Sooo good! I've always liked stuff like this. But I did it quite a bit differently than the recipe, hence the 4 stars. I only put in 1 cup of shredded coconut, 1/4 tsp cinnamon and nutmeg, and I didn't notice until after I'd already bought the cans of fruit that the recipe only called for 8/11-ounce cans. So since I love fruit, I ended up putting in a 20-ounce can of pineapple and 15-ounce cans of mandarin oranges and fruit cocktail. It turned out perfect that way! I even forgot to put the marshmallows and walnuts in before I started eating it, and it was still delicious without them. Will definitely be making this again and experimenting with fresh berries. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have never made this before. But when your family tells you to bring a fruit for brunch I immediately thought of Ambrosia. I read most of the reviews and made it with the variations suggested. It was a big hit. The family loved it. My nephew actually wanted the leftovers. What a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
would deffinately use less cool whip, add sour cream, omit spices, add raisens...wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I did not care for the cinnamon and nutmeg addition to this recipe. I halved it as suggested by other reviewers, but I just don't think these flavors mingled well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I loved this recipe. I added a fuji apple, orange, and a small grapefruit. I didn't put any nutmeg an I put 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I omitted the fruit cocktail because I don't like the mushiness - and fresh fruit tastes so much better. Overall, it was amazing - my family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a very easy recipe. The only thing I changed was the spices. I know that Nutmeg can often be very strong so I just used a pinch...spiced it to taste. The family really enjoyed it!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The spice's were overwhelming even at 1/4 tea. each. Will try other ambrosia recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States