Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Too much nutmeg & cinnamon but otherwise delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
The reviewer "Beautiful Tragedy" had the best revision of this recipe. My modifications were, instead of can fruit cocktail I used Del Monte Fruit Salad so the fruit would be fresh like, along with an apple, banana, and fresh blueberries. I also used sour cream. With the spices I just sprinkle a little of both on top at the end to give it a pretty appearance which turned out to be just right. I love coconut but my guy doesn't so I omitted that. I made this at a pontoon party and it was gone in seconds. Everyone wanted to know who made that dish. I must say it is delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Don't add the cinnamon and nutmeg, its way to nutty. Try it on a small portion in a bowl before you put it on the whole salad. Upside is..its super fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
COMPLETELY ADDICTIVE!!!! I followed the previous suggestions with halving the whipped topping and adding the sour cream. I also halved the coconut and the marshmallows and doubled the amount of walnuts. SO GOOD!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Super easy and not just for the holidays! I made this to take to a potluck after church in "June" and it was a big hit -- there was only 1/2 c. leftover. Next time I may omit the coconut because I find that a lot of people do not care for it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I love Ambrosia salad, however, when I make this recipe, I leave out the spices and use less coconut. I always use Extra Creamy whipped topping too. It is always a hit wherever I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Super easy to make, and a hit at our 4th of July cookout. I eased up on the spices, and a little on the coconut and cherries too. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Ive always wanted to know how to make this fruit salad, it was so good! Loved it..followed the recipe as it is. No need to change anything in my opinion!! This recipe is a keeper : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I am not sure if it is personal taste but we thought there was just too much coconut in this. 1-1/2 cups would be plenty for us. We will also omit the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Simply delicious! I did change a few things. I just put 1 cup of coconut flakes, added another 1/2 cup walnuts, added frozen blueberries, and just used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine C. Valencia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States