Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Consensus seems to be reduce/omit cinnamon & nutmeg & reduce coconut by 1/2 so I did. Also reduced Cool Whip by 1/2 and added 1/2 Sour Cream. Added fresh fruits in season: strawberries, blueberries, peaches & apple. AND, used 1/2 white mini marshmallows and 1/2 coloured mini marshmallows for a bit of colour. MMMMMMmmmmmmm !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Fantastic and EASY. I made this for 14 gals in our Club. Everyone loved it. Used only 1 cup of coconut, 2 cans fruit cocktail, 1 can pineapple chunks, 1 can mandarin oranges and 1 jar of cherries. Added red seedless grapes, 2 tubs Cool Whip and walnuts. Thanks for this great recipe; I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was the recipe I remember from my childhood! As I have a diabetic in the house, I made a few changes. I used a combination of lite whipped topping and fat-free sour cream with the no sugar canned fruit. I tried it with a touch of the pumpkin spice and it was excellent. Thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This recipe always has the family fighting over any leftovers in the bowl. I usually have additional do-dahs in this recipe; so to stretch out the dressing I add about 1/2c. reduced fat mayonnaise. I then chop up 1 Granny Smith apple, slice 1 banana, cut back on the coconut, use BLACK chopped walnuts & colored mini marshmellows. For more of a Calypso-style salad, you can use papaya, guava, mango, & poppyseed. For those who don't like the nutmeg, try using some allspice instead (pumpkin spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I was very disappointed with this recipe. All I could taste was the nutmeg...AWFUL! I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura T

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I reduced the coconut and added a touch more marshmallows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Awesome recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good, but too much coconut for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Very good, the nutmeg and cinnamon really makes this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I love coconut, but this recipe calls for too much. Also, I'd add more whipped cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States