Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Consensus seems to be reduce/omit cinnamon & nutmeg & reduce coconut by 1/2 so I did. Also reduced Cool Whip by 1/2 and added 1/2 Sour Cream. Added fresh fruits in season: strawberries, blueberries, peaches & apple. AND, used 1/2 white mini marshmallows and 1/2 coloured mini marshmallows for a bit of colour. MMMMMMmmmmmmm !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Fantastic and EASY. I made this for 14 gals in our Club. Everyone loved it. Used only 1 cup of coconut, 2 cans fruit cocktail, 1 can pineapple chunks, 1 can mandarin oranges and 1 jar of cherries. Added red seedless grapes, 2 tubs Cool Whip and walnuts. Thanks for this great recipe; I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was the recipe I remember from my childhood! As I have a diabetic in the house, I made a few changes. I used a combination of lite whipped topping and fat-free sour cream with the no sugar canned fruit. I tried it with a touch of the pumpkin spice and it was excellent. Thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This recipe always has the family fighting over any leftovers in the bowl. I usually have additional do-dahs in this recipe; so to stretch out the dressing I add about 1/2c. reduced fat mayonnaise. I then chop up 1 Granny Smith apple, slice 1 banana, cut back on the coconut, use BLACK chopped walnuts & colored mini marshmellows. For more of a Calypso-style salad, you can use papaya, guava, mango, & poppyseed. For those who don't like the nutmeg, try using some allspice instead (pumpkin spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I was very disappointed with this recipe. All I could taste was the nutmeg...AWFUL! I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura T

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I reduced the coconut and added a touch more marshmallows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Awesome recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good, but too much coconut for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Very good, the nutmeg and cinnamon really makes this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I love coconut, but this recipe calls for too much. Also, I'd add more whipped cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States