Ambrosia Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Not bad, but I prefer to exclude the nuts, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Also, I put a little bit less of cool whip and used fat free. In addition I added nata de coco (its like a coconut sqaures thats kind of like jel) and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The dash of nutmeg adds a nice touch to this salad. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I only used 1/3 of the coconut called for. I doubled the recipe and used can of fat free sweetened condensed milk. Also, did not use nutmeg... Very good! Very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This fruit salad was incredibly good. I made it for Christmas morning breakfast (along with the Country Breakfast Casserole) and everyone wanted the recipe. As I was making it, I didn't think there would be enough "dressing". I thought that I would have to add more whipped topping, but it ended up being the perfect amount. Other than cutting the coconut to 1.5 cups, I followed the recipe exactly and was glad that I did. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made this on Thanksgiving as an alternative to the classic fruit salad, and it was well received. I was a little skeptical about the spices, but after trying this before and after spices, I think the cinnamon and nutmeg are essential. General consensus was that the dish was good, but that it might do well to cut down on the coconut. A suggestion I'll take when I make it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
My family likes this w/o the nutmeg and the cinnamon. I have made this numerous times since printing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was to add a couple of large bananas sliced up. I also didn't thaw my Cool Whip before hand and just let it sit out for about 20 minutes... it came out perfect! Nice and chilled... not runny. My family who likes fruit salad raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I can't really rate this recipe as it was written as I made changes as suggested by others. I omit cinnamon and nutmeg and reduced coconut by half (entire amount would have definitely been too much for me). Also used half amount of CoolWhip and added 8oz sour cream. Final result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I liked this recipe very much. I used only fruit cocktail, marshmallows, and cool whip, since that was what I had in the house. I also added chopped walnuts for additional texture. I didn't used cinnamon or nutmeg, since I wasn't sure I wanted that flavoring in this fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I loved this recipe. I changed it a little bit by using about 1/2 cup sour cream along with the whipped topping. Instead of using the fruit cocktail I used canned peaches and added some apples and grapes. It turned out great after chilling overnight. I kept the walnuts separate and added them just before eating and sprinkled a little cinnamon on top. Delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States