Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This tasted fine, but it didn't taste like sesame chicken. The five spice powder threw it off, and it was not sweet enough. It is pointless to put sesame seeds or red pepper flakes in the flour mixture -- it's not going to stick to your chicken. Add those ingredients, if you desire them, in the final making of the sauce. I used a great deal of soy sauce to make the "sauce" because 4 tbsp of liquid just wasn't going to cut it. Thank you for sharing -- I enjoyed this recipe, and can see how I could tweak it to match the sesame chicken I'm familiar with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a beautiful dish, high color and authentic looking. Mine didn't taste a whole lot like sesame chicken, even though I cooked it in sesame oil. But I did run low on sesame seeds so that could have been part of it. I also thought the Chinese five spice gave it an odd flavor, but again I used some that was kind of old. It was still very tasty, just didn't taste exactly like I was expecting. My family liked it though, and it looked very authentic. I would use more pepper and onion next time to give a higher veggie to meat ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very tasty! Like some other reviewers, I used a red bell pepper in place of a green one. The only other addition was that of salt. I found the chicken needed just a little so I sprinkled some over the chicken and the veggies at the end. Served over a bed of white sticky rice, this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe. I do change it a little. I double the sauce and only add a couple tablespoons of sesame seeds to the sauce. If you add it to the flour mix most of it just gets wasted and it doesnt make a difference in taste. I also use a whole orange pepper. I have made it with many different peppers and orange tastes the best in this recipe. I also half the flour mix amount otherwise it wastes ALOT of flour and five spice powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Realy nice taste! Only had 2 problems. 1st The flour mix didn't realy stick well to the chicken, so I had to first dip the chicken chunks into beated egg, so problem fixed! & 2nd like others said sauce was just not enough! So I doubled it! I also added other chinese vegtables and served with white long grain rice, all in all very nice meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Every time I make this my whole kitchen is engulfed in smoke! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco & Isa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good reicpe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Triple the sauce but do no triple the honey. Otherwise it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We really enjoyed this, I used fresh ginger, tripled the sauce and added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The chicken came out kind of gooey and clumped together. It tasted fine, but what went wrong? I will have to try again to see if I can make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States