Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MadGab73
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
When I moved from the San Francisco Bay Area to Idaho Falls,ID; good Chinese Restaurants were very hard to find, in fact there are only 2 here that are reasonable but still don't come close. Also they are across town. So it was time to learn how to cook my own Chinese Take-Out. This recipe was pretty close to the real thing. I did it with boneless skinless thighs and it was so good I almost didn't leave any for my 2 teenage boys, who were both out, I just wanted to keep eating little pieces of chicken. Who needs mediocre restaurants when I can cook just as good, if not better, at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadGab73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jestermann1222
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
A new favorite in our house. My wife is vegetarian so I substituted firm Tofu and the dish turned out spectacular. I used red peppers for color and the definitley added flavor as well. I am teaching my son how to cook and this was his first experience. He has hated onions for a long time and because of his contribution to this dish he now has a new found appreciation for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yum! Hubby really isn't a Chinese food fan. He loved this. We both did. I think it's because it was so fresh. Added broccoli and carrot. Also, didn't have sesame seeds so added a few dashes of sesame oil. For the teriyaki, I used Very Very Teriyaki but no honey. It was sweet enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used one full red pepper in place of the green pepper and based on the previous reviews, I quadrupled the "sauce". To make quick work of the sauce and to cut down on overmixing (and by overmixing, I mean losing some of the "crust" on the chicken), I mixed the teryaki sauce and honey together before pouring it over the chicken. I do not have a wok, I made this in my cast iron skillet--I was pretty proud of that. Wok or not, this still turned out darn tasty. My husband and kids inhaled this. I made a Japanese-Style cabbage salad to go with it, my husband made a comment that those two combined would make a great lettuce wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an awful lot of chicken to crowd onto a skillet and expect it to cook in 5 minutes. It didn't. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers to triple the sauce. That was not a good suggestion. It was way too much sauce. It still came out pretty tasty, just too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my family's favorite oriental chicken recipe. I don't deviate much from the original recipe, other than changing up the vegetables depending what I have on hand. I double the honey/teryaki glaze so that there is extra for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I lightened this recipe to suit my dietary needs, but the spirit of the recipe stayed the same and I thought it was delicious! I skipped the flour and the vegetable oil in favor of simply sauteeing the veggies and chunks of chicken in a pan lightly sprayed with PAM. I also used considerably less sesame seeds. Otherwise, I used all the remaining ingredients in the full amounts. For the teriyaki sauce, I used Soy Vay Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce (it has the least amount of sodium of any store bought teriyaki sauce I can find)...it turned out wonderful! Sweet, spicy, quick, and easy - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. Definitely something different than your regular stir fry. I forgot to grab a bell pepper at the store but other than that I made the recipe as is. It was my first time working with chinese five spice and I really liked the flavor. Next time I'll make more of the honey and teryaki mixture so that it oozes over the rice. Thanks Amber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Pretty good! I didn't like the fennel in the 5-spice powder, so I used a mixture of cinnamon and ginger instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! I REALLY enjoyed this. My hubs prefers Sichuan-style Asian dishes, but I tend to enjoy sweeter ones (i.e. sesame, orange, sweet & sour, etc.), so it's no surprise that I liked this more than he did. :) Not only was this super yummy, it also satisfied my craving for Chinese take-out lol! As many others suggested, I too made more sauce (3 x's worth). In retrospect, I wish I would have only doubled the sauce, starting with the recommended 2 T teriyaki / honey and adding more to taste. I had FAR too much sauce!!! This in no way affected the outcome, but I will certainly not add as much sauce next time. I also did NOT find it necessary to make the "fish & things" teriyaki sauce so many reviewers say "made" the dish. If you purchase a good quality teriyaki, you'll be fine. I used Kikkoman's roasted garlic (couldn't find Mr. Yoshida's) and thought it was EXCELLENT! Other than cutting back on the sauce, my only other suggested change is to not cook the veggies as long as directed. Since I prefer slightly crunchy veggies as oppsoed to soft ones, I'll definitely keep this in mind next time around. NOTE: Do not make the same mistake I almost did.... I found Dynasty brand 5 spice powder in my grocer's ethnic aisle. A 2 oz. jar cost me $2! A 1.25 oz. bottle of Spice Islands 5 spice (in the baking aisle) was DOUBLE this price. Served with steamed rice, egg rolls & almond cookies for dessert. Thanks SO much for sharing, Amber. This will be added to my recipe box for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States