Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. I made a TON more of the sauce than the recipe asks for because it would have produced hardly any if I hadn't. I used the Kikkomen Takumi original teriyaki sauce because it had sesame seeds in the sauce and it worked wonderful. I think if I had used just plain teriyaki sauce it would have been very bland. So if you are going to make this make it with a triyaki marinade or the Kikkomen Takumi or something like it. It was a bit on the sweet side but I really like that kind of thing. We served it over brown rice and it was wonderful. I think next time I'll add more onion and do green red and yellow peppers for more color and pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Followed recipe to a tee. It wasn't horrible, it just wasn't the usual taste you get when you dine out. The chicken was terrific though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was a little too sweet for my taste. So I would cut down on the honey, since teriyaki sauce is made with sugar in it. The five spice powder is a MUST have. Gave the chicken an aromatic smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Mine turned out pretty good. I needed to add more sauce to mine so I added 4 Tbs of honey and 4 tbs Teriyaki sauce. Next time I will add green peppers and more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Quick and easy yet a wonderfully delicious chicken dish. Good for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I think I have made this recipe 50 times over the years and it is always perfect! Fantastic flavor, easy, and quick! It has been a favorite of mine and my co workers for years. When short on time, I will just make the chicken and add bottled general tso sauce and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This isn't the typical restaurant (deep fried & very sweet) sesame chicken, but it is a very good dish. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was amazing! The only thing I changed was the Chinese 5 spice because I could not find it. I used ground ginger instead and thought it still tasted really good. I will keep looking for the Chinese spice and try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just made this and I swear to betsy this is about the best chinese food I've had in a long time, and I can't believe I made it! I didn't use the five spice, instead I used ground ginger, cheaper and so yummy. I probably used about two teaspoons of ginger in the flour mixture. And when it came to the vegetables, I used two whole green bell peppers and three fourths of an onion, and I cooked the vegetables in a tablespoon of minced garlic and a teaspoon of ginger. I also added a can of baby corn in the step where you add the vegetables to the meat and sauce since canned baby corn is already tender. I also made about five times the sauce and served it with sticky sushi rice. SO SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States