Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. I made a TON more of the sauce than the recipe asks for because it would have produced hardly any if I hadn't. I used the Kikkomen Takumi original teriyaki sauce because it had sesame seeds in the sauce and it worked wonderful. I think if I had used just plain teriyaki sauce it would have been very bland. So if you are going to make this make it with a triyaki marinade or the Kikkomen Takumi or something like it. It was a bit on the sweet side but I really like that kind of thing. We served it over brown rice and it was wonderful. I think next time I'll add more onion and do green red and yellow peppers for more color and pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Followed recipe to a tee. It wasn't horrible, it just wasn't the usual taste you get when you dine out. The chicken was terrific though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was a little too sweet for my taste. So I would cut down on the honey, since teriyaki sauce is made with sugar in it. The five spice powder is a MUST have. Gave the chicken an aromatic smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Mine turned out pretty good. I needed to add more sauce to mine so I added 4 Tbs of honey and 4 tbs Teriyaki sauce. Next time I will add green peppers and more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherene Francis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Quick and easy yet a wonderfully delicious chicken dish. Good for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I think I have made this recipe 50 times over the years and it is always perfect! Fantastic flavor, easy, and quick! It has been a favorite of mine and my co workers for years. When short on time, I will just make the chicken and add bottled general tso sauce and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This isn't the typical restaurant (deep fried & very sweet) sesame chicken, but it is a very good dish. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was amazing! The only thing I changed was the Chinese 5 spice because I could not find it. I used ground ginger instead and thought it still tasted really good. I will keep looking for the Chinese spice and try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just made this and I swear to betsy this is about the best chinese food I've had in a long time, and I can't believe I made it! I didn't use the five spice, instead I used ground ginger, cheaper and so yummy. I probably used about two teaspoons of ginger in the flour mixture. And when it came to the vegetables, I used two whole green bell peppers and three fourths of an onion, and I cooked the vegetables in a tablespoon of minced garlic and a teaspoon of ginger. I also added a can of baby corn in the step where you add the vegetables to the meat and sauce since canned baby corn is already tender. I also made about five times the sauce and served it with sticky sushi rice. SO SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Allway Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States