Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Quick and easy yet a wonderfully delicious chicken dish. Good for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I think I have made this recipe 50 times over the years and it is always perfect! Fantastic flavor, easy, and quick! It has been a favorite of mine and my co workers for years. When short on time, I will just make the chicken and add bottled general tso sauce and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This isn't the typical restaurant (deep fried & very sweet) sesame chicken, but it is a very good dish. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was amazing! The only thing I changed was the Chinese 5 spice because I could not find it. I used ground ginger instead and thought it still tasted really good. I will keep looking for the Chinese spice and try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just made this and I swear to betsy this is about the best chinese food I've had in a long time, and I can't believe I made it! I didn't use the five spice, instead I used ground ginger, cheaper and so yummy. I probably used about two teaspoons of ginger in the flour mixture. And when it came to the vegetables, I used two whole green bell peppers and three fourths of an onion, and I cooked the vegetables in a tablespoon of minced garlic and a teaspoon of ginger. I also added a can of baby corn in the step where you add the vegetables to the meat and sauce since canned baby corn is already tender. I also made about five times the sauce and served it with sticky sushi rice. SO SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MadGab73
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
When I moved from the San Francisco Bay Area to Idaho Falls,ID; good Chinese Restaurants were very hard to find, in fact there are only 2 here that are reasonable but still don't come close. Also they are across town. So it was time to learn how to cook my own Chinese Take-Out. This recipe was pretty close to the real thing. I did it with boneless skinless thighs and it was so good I almost didn't leave any for my 2 teenage boys, who were both out, I just wanted to keep eating little pieces of chicken. Who needs mediocre restaurants when I can cook just as good, if not better, at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadGab73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jestermann1222
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
A new favorite in our house. My wife is vegetarian so I substituted firm Tofu and the dish turned out spectacular. I used red peppers for color and the definitley added flavor as well. I am teaching my son how to cook and this was his first experience. He has hated onions for a long time and because of his contribution to this dish he now has a new found appreciation for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yum! Hubby really isn't a Chinese food fan. He loved this. We both did. I think it's because it was so fresh. Added broccoli and carrot. Also, didn't have sesame seeds so added a few dashes of sesame oil. For the teriyaki, I used Very Very Teriyaki but no honey. It was sweet enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used one full red pepper in place of the green pepper and based on the previous reviews, I quadrupled the "sauce". To make quick work of the sauce and to cut down on overmixing (and by overmixing, I mean losing some of the "crust" on the chicken), I mixed the teryaki sauce and honey together before pouring it over the chicken. I do not have a wok, I made this in my cast iron skillet--I was pretty proud of that. Wok or not, this still turned out darn tasty. My husband and kids inhaled this. I made a Japanese-Style cabbage salad to go with it, my husband made a comment that those two combined would make a great lettuce wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States