Amber's Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
The first mistake was 5T of oil, too much all at once and needed more oil with the rest of the chicken. I should have known when I saw 2T of teriyaki sauce for 30oz of chicken not nearly enough sauce or even a glaze. I was able to save the meal but won't bother with a recipe that takes this much modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I don't know why Asian food scares me. This is my second recipe, and it's incredibly easy and delicious. Since it's quite a bit of chicken, make sure the oil is good and hot before throwing the chicken in. You want a good crunch, and if the oil isn't ready, you get more of a saute heating. Next time I will be a little bit more liberal with the sauce so I have plenty to flavor the rice I serve it with. Especially the honey. Do yourself a favor and toast your own sesame seeds. So easy, and the added flavor is fantastic. Just throw the seeds in the dry skillet that you are going to use for the chicken, and work it while you're cutting the chicken. When they get toasty brown and fragrant, they are ready. You won't be sorry. Who needs Panda Express when it's all this easy at home?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanisha
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I did not follow this exactly. I use my judgment for the measurements. I did not brown the chicken in oil, bake them on a grease prove paper. I add carrots and it was lovely. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Great recipe. Made a delicious dish. The only issue is that, as other reviewers have said, it doesn't make enough sauce. I'd suggest tripling the teriyaki and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was incredible! I made only two minor changes, and that was adding water chestnuts and using chicken tenderloin. This recipe with veri veri teriyaki is outstanding! Kudos to the originator for a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I tripled the sauce and used maple syrup instead of honey! My kids loved it and had seconds. Now they ask if we are having the sweet chicken for dinner. It's our new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandrine Chevrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I absolutely love this! I make as is, and it is fantastic. The five spice powder really makes this recipe, though you need to make sure that you have a good blend. (I just bought a new one--don't think I like it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is my family's favorite meal! It is very easy, however a little time consuming, so give yourself enough prep & cooking time. I alway double for us (family of 7) plus I love having enough for left overs the next day for lunch. I also double teriyaki & honey. Fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamcgonigle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used fresh ginger in place of the five-spice powder, and used olive/canola oil. It came out great!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondee03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corydon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Best recipe I've found so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States