Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Wow! This is a really great recipe! I didn't want the eggs to curdle and get lumpy so I added the milk mixture into the eggs, one ladle-full at a time until about 2/3 of the milk was whisked into the eggs. Then I added the tempered egg mixture into the pan and cooked for 3 minutes. No lumps and the texture is fantastic. I didn't add alcohol because my 1 1/2 year old granddaughter LOVES eggnog (if I want some liquor in mine, I can add it later). I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The best eggnog I've ever had! I followed the recipe except the rum but other then that it was eye brow raising good. I especially like the combination of spices. My family likes their eggnog really fluffy and this pleased all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used only 1 Cup sugar, and half the light cream (added extra milk to make up the volume) and it was still nice and thick, creamy and delicious. Wonderful recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Somebody brought this to a potluck and it was incredible, so I decided to make it myself. I used Malibu rum and heavy cream instead of light cream. It was a huge, huge hit and I'm so excited about making it for New Years Eve that I might just make a double batch. It's a lot of work but so totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We used 2% for the milk and half & half for the light cream. We left out the rum and just had folks add brandy when they poured a glass. The brandy added just the right kick to it. This one's going to be an annual favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made it a second time and swapped the light rum with 2 cups of darker spiced rum and it was also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe was a little thinner than I typically like, but the flavor was perfect. (I used 2 tsp rum extract instead of rum. We don't really drink much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I've started making this a few years ago for Christmas at my in-laws, and every year since then the eggnog has been a big hit! My husband and I usually never drink eggnog (he's occasionally had the store bought version), but he says he will never drink store bought again. I follow the directions, and it turns out great every time. It has become a yearly tradition. Thanks for such an "amazingly" delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saugie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Great eggnog it made the holidays feel so cozy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I really liked this eggnog recipe! Instead of letting it cool, however, I served it while still very warm. A great way to warm up on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachesthepigeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States