Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Loved this! My mom and dad said they didn't like eggnog, but tried this and were blown away! They said it tasted like liquid pumpkin pie! Thank you for the great recipe! We'll never buy eggnog from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
gave this 4 stars but it was a close run for 5. I read as many negative reviews as possible before reading to see what people were experiencing. I truly believe if you use quality ingredients you will get a quality result. I used local organic whole milk, local organic heavy cream, and Buliett Bourbon (90proof). I only used 2 cups instead of 2 1/2. The flavor of the bourbon enhances this drink so much. And i would never put a clear liquor in this drink. If i were to use rum i would you Barbados Spiced Rum. This is a quality dark rum that is very smooth and not too sweet. That would work well. Also i had to double the nutmeg, i grated it fresh, maybe thats why it required more. Anyways this is awesome and i like it so much i decided to make an extra batch to bring to the inlaws for xmas because i think they will all like it so much and want to be sure i get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yuuum. As it was my first attempt at making homemade eggnog, I was quite pleased. Like others, I cut the rum down to about half, one cup was plenty strong for us. Very rich and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good eggnog. Beats store-bought by a mile! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I normally hate when people rate something 5 stars and then talk about how they changed the recipe - but hey, this is such a good base recipe I had to give credit where credit was due. I have used this recipe for years but with two big important changes. I omit the alcohol and I double the spices. This way, people can add in the alcohol cup by cup and it is honestly SUCH a good eggnog without the alcohol in the base recipe (with the rum I find it way too strong and not too tasty). It will give you a very thick eggnog but you can use half and half or light cream or add milk to thin it out once it's finished and cooled. GREAT recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this Egg Nog last year and it was fantastic. I used spiced rum instead of light rum. I'll definitely be making it again this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I really like this recipe. Since "light rum" was specified and I am not really sure what "light rum" is I went with Captain Morgan spice rum which is most delicious in this eggnog. I do use only 1 cup as I would rather under pour and allow guests to add more as opposed to over pouring and ruining my eggnog. Very good thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bogner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
AMAZINGLY good is right! I don't even drink eggnog and it was delicious! Made it for a Christmas party and was so much better then I thought it would be. Did take note about how strong it was..so I did 2 cups of rum instead of 2.5cups. Added candy canes to be use with the drink and it was perfect as a stirring stick and tastes yummie with the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
For me and my family this recipe is a must every Christmas. I use a good bourbon instead of the rum, but I guess that is up to your personal taste. I usually fix it up the day before Christmas Eve and if you boil the egg mixture and keep the eggnog cold you can still drink it the 2nd day of Christmas. It will get even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this recipe! Made it for many international friends while living abroad…they had never tried eggnog before and loved it! I think it works best with a spiced rum (I like Sailor Jerry's), rather than just plain light rum…delicious Christmas in a cup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtmac
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States