Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Nice creamy drink, like a thin shake with a christmasy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Way too much cinnamon. I had to strain it twice as much of the cinnamon formed clumps. It tastes very much like the commercially available eggnog - nothing very special. The recipe does make a very thick and yellow eggnog, if that is to your taste. We prefer a creamier, less yolk-coloured variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We live in England and can't get eggnog-- we love this! I do leave out the rum and that leaves ] a bit more thick. Also, I am able to make eggnog latte or add it to my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Nataliesmom: We are Canadians living in Antananarivo, Madagascar, where egg nog is both unavailable in stores, and totally unheard of. This was our first Christmas here - the tropical setting and lack of North American festivities made it somewhat difficult for us. We went online to find an egg nog recipe, as we were responsible for bringing something "Canadian" to a party we were attending, and yours was one of the first that popped up! Not only was the recipe easy to make, it was a total hit with all of the people at the party, whose nationalities ranged from Malagasy, French, South African, Belgian, Dutch, Spanish and Canadian! Many of the guests were asking me for the recipe, and told me it was one of the best drinks they have ever tasted! Thanks so much for posting this, and enjoy a happy and healthy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My husband and I decided to make home made eggnog and this is the recipe we chose. We cut the rum in half and also set 2 cups aside for the 10 yr old! It is a great recipe, we all agreed on 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Hardin King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. The reviews made me very confident in the accurate eggnog taste this recipe would have. I just didn't like it a whole lot. It was a good drink but i didn't think it tasted like eggnog. My family had different views and actually loved the eggnog recipe. My recommendation would be that yes, try the recipe but keep an extra can of eggnog just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
After our store ran out of eggnog, I made this using 2% milk and heavy cream. If I can find it next time, I will use light cream for health reasons, but this was very rich, creamy and delicious! I also agree to reduce the sugar to 1 cup. Left out the rum and we used Jack Daniels instead. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was sensational! Having never had eggnog before I wasn't sure what to expect but we all devoured it in no time. We made a non-alcoholic version for the kids and then added a shot each of Baileys Irish cream whiskey to our own cups and it was divine. Next time I am at home for Christmas (in Australia) I'll make it into ice cream so we can still enjoy these amazing flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I curdled the milk and cooked the egg yolks into chunks. We make rice pudding out of it so it wasn't a waste, but I had to hurry and make another batch for Thanksgiving. I left out a cup of rum because I felt it was a lot, and it was still too strong for my taste. This time (the third time) I did not add the rum, and I like it so much better! The only other change I have made it to add more spices, otherwise it tastes a little too much like milk and sugar to me. Me and my family love how sweet it is (it's not terribly sweet, although many people are happy to cut out some of the sugar with good results), and we don't mind the amount of egg yolks, so this recipe really turns out perfect without the rum and more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just made this today for Christmas Eve... fantastic! We made one batch as recipe stated (but added Captain Morgans Spiced Rum per glass) and made the second batch with unsweetened soy milk for the Lactose sensitive family members. Both were perfectly thick and creamy! I think next time I'll cut the sugar down by at least 1/2 cup, as it was quite sweet. But otherwise, it was perfect... and all the first-time drinkers loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States