Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very nice - not like the store-bought eggnog I grew up on, but very good. I took a batch to a work potluck and the older generation just raved about it. The younger ones could take it or leave it. I liked it very much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My grandmothers recipe is almost impossible to beat but it is old school and uses raw eggs (which as long as you wash the shell, I’m ok with). I really like this -- only changes I will make is using ground cloves (1 teaspoon) and Amaretto instead of rum.. sweeter, softer, easier flavor to handle with still a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good and not too strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Truly Amazing! LOVE this recipe! I leave out the rum and people can add in own if want. Instead of 4 cups cream, I sometimes do 2 cups cream, 2 cups milk just to make it a little less rich. And I like to whip up the cream a bit ... adds a little extra richness and texture I think. Everyone who's tried this raves about it and is asking for it come Christmas time! Also excellent in your morning coffee :) And definitely better the next day(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Fantastic! Even people that don't like eggnog will LOVE this recipe! I made it sans rum and you can even add a bit more milk to dilute (stretch) it a bit :) Thanks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The flavor is great, but came out chunky? I have tiny little chunk the size of pin heads. Maybe I'm a pinhead and just cooked it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I will admit this is a very good recipe however I would advise using less rum. I'm sorry but it totally overpowers the taste of the eggnog. Although my husbands begs to differ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buskens1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
very good ,if you like eggnog (I don't, but everyone at my party did.) i used fat free half and half instead of the cream to lighten it up and lessen the calorie count a bit, and the taste was still great. spiced rum goes very well in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
thank you sooooo much for perfecting this recipe all those years AND even more so for sharing it with us. Living in the Netherlands I wanted to share this specific flavor with my family and this recipe appealed to me for it seemed (and is!) easy to make. I just finished making half of the recipe as a trial without rum simly cause I dont like the taste of alcohol and dont allow my kids to drink yet. When christmas is here I'll have a bottle of rum on the table so people can spike it to there own taste! Thanks again Nataliesmom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was the first time I made eggnog and I found the recipe to be simple and delicious. I followed the suggestions of other reviews and added less vanilla and 1 cup less rum and the eggnog turned out beautifully balanced. Everyone at my Christmas party loved this eggnog, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Music_detective

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 191-200 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States