Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this as written it WONDERFUL!!! You can make with or without the Rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
First time attempting and making homemade eggnog…wow! This is so easy and amazing! I did not have a problem with the milk burning either. LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I substituted 1/2 t. ground cloves for the 5 whole cloves. Straining is still a good idea if you want to get rid of possible clumps. I added all the vanilla and nutmeg after cooking and before cooling. I was worried about the vanilla cooking out and wanted the nutmeg the most time to meld with the other flavors. I omited the alcohol this time and used half & half for the light cream. I cooked a little longer than 3 min just to be safe (still not boiled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika glasco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Now this is real eggnog! You won't find that artificial, gross, or syrupy tasting mess that is typical of store-bought eggnog here. This eggnog is creamy, decadent, and natural. In order to save myself and guests from an instant spike in cholesterol, I only used six yolks and replaced the cream with half and half. I've made this recipe as-written too, and it *is* truly amazing, but with all the holiday goodies, I decided to cut back on the fats in this drink a bit. It doesn't alter the flavor, but obviously it won't be as creamy. Definitely don't skip on straining the custard, because you will have some "cooked egg pieces" in there otherwise. In order to get the custard creamy enough, some of the egg does cook even while you're stirring on the lowest heat setting. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup (with 1/4 cup of it being brown sugar because I ran out of white sugar) and it was perfect if you don't like too-sweet drinks. I think the amount of alcohol was good, but I like to taste the rum when it's drowned in lots of milk or cream. :) If you want it to be more subtle, then yes, I recommend cutting down on the amount of rum at least one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made this for several years now! Every time I do make it, someone ends up asking for the recipe! I love, love, love the idea that it doesn't have raw eggs in it. I do only one thing different and that is I omit the rum, as there are young children who love this too. By doing this, it doesn't change the flavor...it's still fab! Thanks for the GREATEST eggnog recipe ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cin_373

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
wow this is an old school style egg nog that my dad used to make, albeit with raw eggs. but that is a lot of rum, dang. if i were to measure out the alcohol for such a dish, id say half a shot's worth of alcohol per serving. a shot is a bit strong, and it seems like with 2/5 cups of rum, thats more than a shot, no? i like the nog to have a noticeable alcohol flavor, but to stop at that. "hmm, that has a bit of alcohol" should be the taste. like if you drink too much, you will get surprised drunk. real nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I don't drink eggnog but my kids love it. I'm giving this a 3 star mainly because they like store eggnog better but they're kids. Didn't want to rate down for their opinion. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Amazingly good it is! I've used this recipe for the last 2 years! Since I live in Germany it'S hard to find eggnog. My family and I love it! I leave out the rum but thats all the ajustments I make. It really is very, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this recipe last night. My first time ever trying to make home made egg nog. I am a good cook, but I struggled a little with this recipe. The taste is awesome, but it didn't get thick. I'm not sure what part of the recipe I did incorrectly. How long are you supposed to cook the eggs and how thick should they before removing from heat. . . Anyway, it was delicious and I'm giving it 5 stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is near perfect. I have made it for 3+ years in a row around Thanksgiving and Christmastime and it is always a revelation. I make it pretty much exactly according to the recipe (one of the few recipes I don't have to cut down the sugar), EXCEPT I add just 3/4 c. rum rather than 2 1/2 c. I think it's important to add a little rum because it adds to the complexity of flavor. So awesome - will be making again and again for years to come, God willing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIMMETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States