Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
too thick and sweet for me , maybe next time i use more milk then cream. also reduce the sugar and egg by one so it wasn't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
That's what I'm talkin' about. The only problem is having it refrigerate overnight. What a tease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We made two batches of this...one alcoholic and one without alcohol. We decreased the amount of alcohol in half and found it was still a little too strong for us. But that is just our preference, and I actually prefer non alcoholic eggnog. The non alcoholic batch was AMAZING! We even used skim milk to make ours, so it wasn't super thick, but the was so amazing. Way better than any of the best store bought kind. This will be a keeper and will be what we make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Outstanding!! I did not add rum. I had some Godiva Chocolate Liqueur I added to each glass of those who wanted it spiked. A new holiday tradition is born!!! Thank you Nataliesmom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe, and also very easy to lighten up and/or halve! My hubby requested lighter egg nog, so I made half of this recipe using skim milk in place of the milk and cream, and cooking all of the milk with the spice. We didn't much rum to it, so the resulting texture was still very good -- not too thin. Goes great with cookies and pumpkin roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome!! I used 1/2 and half for the cream, 2 cups of rum and only cooled it for an hour in the frig. (served over ice cubes). everyone raved about it so much so that if I had a larger container to put it in I would have doubled it! Thank you so much Nataliesmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Served this as is, no changes and it was a big hit. I will definitely serve it again next year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I cut the rum down to a little over 1 cup and the family loved it. Definitely a new family tradition :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KChristy927

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Followed the directions exactly as written until I got to the end. Instead of the 4 c light cream I used 2 c heavy whipping cream and 2 c half and half. Followed some other advice here and did NOT add the rum. My 16 yr old son who has hated egnog all of his life LOVES this! We will be making this again and again. Excellent way to use up some of the fresh eggs the hens have been laying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Good recipe- easy to follow. Used almond milk and it seemed fine. Tasted great- liked that it wasn't super thick like some I've had. Biggest issue was the smell... very eggy. But other than that, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 181-190 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States