Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Followed the directions exactly as written until I got to the end. Instead of the 4 c light cream I used 2 c heavy whipping cream and 2 c half and half. Followed some other advice here and did NOT add the rum. My 16 yr old son who has hated egnog all of his life LOVES this! We will be making this again and again. Excellent way to use up some of the fresh eggs the hens have been laying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Good recipe- easy to follow. Used almond milk and it seemed fine. Tasted great- liked that it wasn't super thick like some I've had. Biggest issue was the smell... very eggy. But other than that, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
David loves this - Make early enough so he doesn't have to buy any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We made this for our traditional Christmas and it was absolutely the greatest!!! However, we used a sugar substitute for low carb, and it still turned out wonderful. We will be adding this one to our other holiday recipes. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was so amazing. My entire family loved this eggnog. I did only add about half of the rum than is suggested, only because I was scared that the recommended amount would be just a little too strong. Seriously amazing eggnog, though, I was barely able to let it chill overnight because my family tried to drink it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
First time trying to make eggnog at home - this is great! Will use spiced rum, bourbon or brandy next time (rum was ok but the others are a little more mellow). Captain Morgan's private stock would be phenomenal in this! Only used a pinch of ground cloves (wanted a subtle hint). Reduced liquor by 1/5. Might double the vanilla at the end next time. Great, GREAT recipe - now an eggnog convert :D Try with gingerbread - YUM! Edit: made a 2nd batch with dark rum and extra vanilla - not good. I think light rum works best b/c it doesn't overpower the subtle flavors. The extra vanilla made it taste like the extract :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Just made this eggnog right now, so it's not completely chilled yet, but already tastes absolutely amazing! Only I added 1 1/2 cup of rum instead of 2 1/2 and 2 cups heavy cream/2 cups half&half instead of 4 cups light cream. Great recipe, definitely saving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUM-MY! And it hasn't even sat overnight yet!!! We made as directed except instead of rum (which I don't believe should be in eggnog, anyway) we added 1 cup of cognac. It's so amazing - and much easier to make than I expected!! :-) (I'm living in the UK which is the only reason I'm actually making it - normally I'd just buy a mediocre carton at the grocery store. Now I don't think I can ever do that again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Really delicious and tastes just like I've always remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used 2 cups of run based on all of the other reviewers that complained it was too strong. I still tasted the rum but it wasn't too overpowering. Tasted great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States