Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This eggnog is only OK. I have been making eggnog from the "Joy of Cooking " cookbook for many years. Of course this is better than store bought with all the store bought emulsifiers and preservatives. But this eggnog lacks the real egg flavor of egg nogs I have made in previous years. I think cooking the eggs changes or mutes the egg flavor. I added additional raw yokes but still couldn't get it to taste as good the Joy of Cooking recipes. but still, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
She's right. I'll never buy store bought eggnog again!! This recipe tastes exactly like the most expensive brands of eggnog. I left out the rum so my kids can partake, and we just add it in to taste. This recipe is pitch perfect--don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have made this a few times, and every time it is great. People have asked for the recipe for this, rather than the other dishes I brought. A couple of pieces that I would point out: - I use double the amount of cloves, and - Add Allspice to the milk * You really need to bring it to a boil VERY slowly. - It was too sweet when I used the allotted amount of sugar, so I literally use half. - I would also suggest to use fresher eggs, and rinse the shells before cracking them. Enjoy the recipe, it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe, using one quart of heavy cream and one quart of half and half, instead of the light cream. We don't drink alcohol, so I left the rum out. But I did add rum extract for flavor at the end. I used a whole bottle of extract (1 ounce). But I think next time I'll just use half a bottle. I had a little trouble with the eggs starting to clump up, but I quickly used my stick blender--problem solved. I did not need to strain it. I think this will be a new annual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
12 servings = 1500ml = nicely funneled into two 750ml wine bottles. Additionally, the recipe tastes great but I had trouble getting the mixture to thicken at any stage. Almost all other eggnog recipes I found included whisking the egg whites with sugar until fluffy. I would suggest adding at least 6-10 egg whites to this recipe. Still separate the eggs but split the sugar between whisking the egg whites and the yokes. I was able to save the completed (runny) egg nog by chilling it overnight and then adding it to 8 whisked egg whites/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I think people are judging this recipe by the strong liquor taste but everyone has their own preference of how strong their alcoholic drinks should be in my opinion just omit the alcohol while cooking and allow the people drinking it to add the alcohol themselves. I added about 1/2 tsp more of all of the spices and a little more sugar than the recipe calls for. This was the best egg nog I have ever had. I've been drinking egg nog since I was a young girl but it was always purchased from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
0 stars. This really smells bad. I love egg nog and this is not something I can't even get past my tongue. I should have known by the title "amazing" - the worst egg nog I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yummy! I think next time I'll go easy on the cinnamon but wow it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I found this recipe to have a Great result. The only changes i made were to substitute cinnamon sticks for ground and a whiskey called Spicebox (which is all natural and has all the background flavors of the eggnog in it already) for the rum....I highly reccomend it. end result was less of the alcohol after taste more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4life

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Tastes nothing like store bought eggnog, and that's a good thing. I don't really care for eggnog from the store, but I am having a Christmas dessert party, and decided to give this a try. It is amazing. I did not add the rum, instead leaving it for people to add themselves. This is perfect for holiday parties, and it was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States