Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was great, made it as is, but upped the recipe to 18 servings. Several people at my party had never tried eggnog before and they all loved it. I will definitely be making this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
SO. Just finished making it- here's my twist. I used 2% milk and 10% cream. Instead of liquid vanilla I used 2 vanilla beans, instead of ground cinnamon I used 2 cinnamon sticks and instead of nutmeg I used freshly ground mace. No double boiler required- my eggs were tempered properly so there was no curdling. To be honest, the straining was kind of a wasted step, all that I ended up straining off were the bubbles! Delicious, smooth, awesome. It's been left liquor free at the moment as everyone in my family prefers something a little different, and everyone likes it at different strengths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baie Verte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this every year and everyone loves it! I make it exactly like the recipe and use Captain Morgan's spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I did cut back on the amount of rum and egg yolks. Instead of 12 I did 8 egg yolks and I used 2 cups of rum. That was enough for my taste. But I absolutely loved it. Everybody that drank it loved it!! I didn't give it 5 stars because I did cut back on the ingredient amount listed. But overall a wonderful recipe with my changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Tried it last Christmas party and it was asked back again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe almost exactly. The major change I made was the alcohol. I used brandy, instead of rum, since it has a sweet, smooth, warm flavor. I also cut the amount down by 1 cup - and I'm glad I did, or even the brandy would have been overwhelming! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Wow! This is a really great recipe! I didn't want the eggs to curdle and get lumpy so I added the milk mixture into the eggs, one ladle-full at a time until about 2/3 of the milk was whisked into the eggs. Then I added the tempered egg mixture into the pan and cooked for 3 minutes. No lumps and the texture is fantastic. I didn't add alcohol because my 1 1/2 year old granddaughter LOVES eggnog (if I want some liquor in mine, I can add it later). I'll be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The best eggnog I've ever had! I followed the recipe except the rum but other then that it was eye brow raising good. I especially like the combination of spices. My family likes their eggnog really fluffy and this pleased all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used only 1 Cup sugar, and half the light cream (added extra milk to make up the volume) and it was still nice and thick, creamy and delicious. Wonderful recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Somebody brought this to a potluck and it was incredible! He said he used 2 cups of Bacardi silver rum, probably about 1 cup of Malibu rum and heavy cream instead of light cream. "The cinnamon was in bark form, not ground, and we probably added slightly more vanilla and nutmeg than what the recipe called for." At any rate, I am DEFINATELY going to try my friend's variation. Who can believe an alcoholic punch that knocks you off your feet with the flavor, not the alcohol content?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States