Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
After our store ran out of eggnog, I made this using 2% milk and heavy cream. If I can find it next time, I will use light cream for health reasons, but this was very rich, creamy and delicious! I also agree to reduce the sugar to 1 cup. Left out the rum and we used Jack Daniels instead. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was sensational! Having never had eggnog before I wasn't sure what to expect but we all devoured it in no time. We made a non-alcoholic version for the kids and then added a shot each of Baileys Irish cream whiskey to our own cups and it was divine. Next time I am at home for Christmas (in Australia) I'll make it into ice cream so we can still enjoy these amazing flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I curdled the milk and cooked the egg yolks into chunks. We make rice pudding out of it so it wasn't a waste, but I had to hurry and make another batch for Thanksgiving. I left out a cup of rum because I felt it was a lot, and it was still too strong for my taste. This time (the third time) I did not add the rum, and I like it so much better! The only other change I have made it to add more spices, otherwise it tastes a little too much like milk and sugar to me. Me and my family love how sweet it is (it's not terribly sweet, although many people are happy to cut out some of the sugar with good results), and we don't mind the amount of egg yolks, so this recipe really turns out perfect without the rum and more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just made this today for Christmas Eve... fantastic! We made one batch as recipe stated (but added Captain Morgans Spiced Rum per glass) and made the second batch with unsweetened soy milk for the Lactose sensitive family members. Both were perfectly thick and creamy! I think next time I'll cut the sugar down by at least 1/2 cup, as it was quite sweet. But otherwise, it was perfect... and all the first-time drinkers loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Amazing eggnog! I've made it several times now. Once I decided not to do the extra work of cooking it and it was not nearly as thick or creamy tasting so now I always cook it according to the recipe directions. I add everything exactly as stated except for the rum. I put 2 shots of rum into a clean 750ML rum bottle and then fill the rest of the bottle with the eggnog so I have one bottle for the adults and the remaining eggnog goes in a pitcher for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Amazing! I make this every Christmas and they all keep coming back for more! It is our new yearly tradition. I make it just as it says and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This eggnog truly is amazing! I use Captain Morgan spiced rum. I also make a smaller batch with no alcohol in it. I make it every year for Christmas Eve and I've already been getting requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was great, made it as is, but upped the recipe to 18 servings. Several people at my party had never tried eggnog before and they all loved it. I will definitely be making this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
SO. Just finished making it- here's my twist. I used 2% milk and 10% cream. Instead of liquid vanilla I used 2 vanilla beans, instead of ground cinnamon I used 2 cinnamon sticks and instead of nutmeg I used freshly ground mace. No double boiler required- my eggs were tempered properly so there was no curdling. To be honest, the straining was kind of a wasted step, all that I ended up straining off were the bubbles! Delicious, smooth, awesome. It's been left liquor free at the moment as everyone in my family prefers something a little different, and everyone likes it at different strengths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baie Verte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this every year and everyone loves it! I make it exactly like the recipe and use Captain Morgan's spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States