Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is the best eggnog recipe of all time. I leave out the rum because I make it as a dessert. Many of the negative reviews are referencing the rum. I think the ratio is wrong in the recipe for that ingredient, so definitely scale back some if you don't want it to knock out your party lol I also cut back on the sugar (by about 1/4 cup). Store bought eggnog is really sweet. I like sweet, but not sicky sweet. I don't use the double boiler method because it doesn't really prevent the problems that people have. So basically that's it, don't use too much sugar or rum. If you don't have light cream, sub half heavy whipping cream with half whole milk (tastes the same). Need small saucepan, strainer (for cloves), whisk, and mixing bowl to make this recipe. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I followed this to a "T" and it was awful. It was too thin and for the amount of ingredients (not cheap by the way!) I should have just stuck with the Betty Cocker Cookbook version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This eggnog turned out excellent. I think using the full 2 1/2 cups of rum is a bit much, it was too strong for my liking, but was sure delicious nonetheless. Very easy to make too, would definitely make it again next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Soooooo good - used rum extract instead to get the rum "taste" without the alcohol content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Loved this! Very thick! I actually had to thin it with some milk before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This tasted more like custard than egg nog, but I still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Nice creamy drink, like a thin shake with a christmasy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Way too much cinnamon. I had to strain it twice as much of the cinnamon formed clumps. It tastes very much like the commercially available eggnog - nothing very special. The recipe does make a very thick and yellow eggnog, if that is to your taste. We prefer a creamier, less yolk-coloured variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We live in England and can't get eggnog-- we love this! I do leave out the rum and that leaves ] a bit more thick. Also, I am able to make eggnog latte or add it to my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Nataliesmom: We are Canadians living in Antananarivo, Madagascar, where egg nog is both unavailable in stores, and totally unheard of. This was our first Christmas here - the tropical setting and lack of North American festivities made it somewhat difficult for us. We went online to find an egg nog recipe, as we were responsible for bringing something "Canadian" to a party we were attending, and yours was one of the first that popped up! Not only was the recipe easy to make, it was a total hit with all of the people at the party, whose nationalities ranged from Malagasy, French, South African, Belgian, Dutch, Spanish and Canadian! Many of the guests were asking me for the recipe, and told me it was one of the best drinks they have ever tasted! Thanks so much for posting this, and enjoy a happy and healthy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States