Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe, although very cream heavy for drinking on its own (for me). If you make it the way it is written above with or without the rum, try adding to coffee.....AMAZING! I redid the recipe using skim milk for the initial boiled portion and substituted whole milk for the light cream, and it was much easier to drink. This is a perfect blend of the various spices. Kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Stoltzfus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious!! I used only 1 cup of rum and it turned out perfectly. I also added a bit of allspice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've always been back and forth on whether or not I like eggnog or not. I like the idea of it, but sometimes it's just not my thing. I made this because my son loooooves eggnog and I've been getting him I to cooking as a science. Oh. Em. Gee. It is so good. the only thing I changed was the light cream. I have no idea what that is. After googling it and getting a ton of results about the fats left in the dairy product, I just decided to go with 2 cups half and half and 2 cups heavy cream and hoped that would somehow equal light cream-ish. Definitely making this again, in the next 3 days, to give out as christmas goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Our family agrees--this is the best egg nog we've ever had! The amount of rum is perfect. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you! I didn't have light cream, so I used half and half and heavy cream equally. Great holiday treat!!! Can't wait until next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancylw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
delicious! a little on the sweet side for my personal taste, but still good :) also i added only a 1/4 of the rum initially (i used a dark rum, not light) as it would be too strong for some of my family, and more can always be added as its served ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine German

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this recipe last Christmas with & without the rum (because of all the pregnant mommies & little ones) for Christmas morning at my boyfriend's families house an they absolutely loved it! Even the little kids too. My boyfriend's little girl helps me make it. It's going to be our Christmas eve tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe is the closest thing I can get to the real (read: store-bought) thing in the UK (though I leave out the rum and sub with more milk). Even my British friends are fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I was really nervous to try this because it seemed complicated. It was actually super easy to make and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Prime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it with only 2tbsp brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup, much less cream (maybe 1 cup? eyeballed it), and only a drop or two of Rum extract instead of alcohol... but very tasty!! :) My husband and I LOVE home-made eggnog and using this recipe as our guide did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Not that hard to make and it is very good. I'm not sure what people who said it didn't taste like eggnog and those who called it too sweet were drinking. Some people said it was too think and some said it was too thick. Some complained about the rum and even the vanilla. Here is the real deal: Sweetness: It isn't too sweet. It is roughly in the same range as store bought eggnog. It could certainly be adjusted, but I thought it was just right. Thickness: It is a little thinner than store bought eggnog once you put the rum in it. If you put rum in the store bought kind, it gets thinner - duh. If you want it to be as thick as non alcoholic, cut back on the rum, use heavy cream, or add a few more egg yolks to thicken it up. Alcohol: If you don't like rum, you won't like it with the amount of rum called for in it. I made it with Barbancourt which is a Haitian rum made in the French style. If people sat around and drank a couple good sized glasses of this, some of them would probably feel pretty good. Half or even a quarter of the rum would be fine for people who weren't trying to get a buzz but wanted the real flavor. Spices: It seemed pretty accurate. I might throw a few extra cloves in it to start and maybe mull a stick of cinnamon in the milk with the cloves next time. Nothing was overpowering. No real issues. Overall, it was what I wanted to make. Eggnog isn't my favorite drink, but I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Roberson

Displaying results 11-20 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States