Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Our family agrees--this is the best egg nog we've ever had! The amount of rum is perfect. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you! I didn't have light cream, so I used half and half and heavy cream equally. Great holiday treat!!! Can't wait until next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancylw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
delicious! a little on the sweet side for my personal taste, but still good :) also i added only a 1/4 of the rum initially (i used a dark rum, not light) as it would be too strong for some of my family, and more can always be added as its served ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine German

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this recipe last Christmas with & without the rum (because of all the pregnant mommies & little ones) for Christmas morning at my boyfriend's families house an they absolutely loved it! Even the little kids too. My boyfriend's little girl helps me make it. It's going to be our Christmas eve tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe is the closest thing I can get to the real (read: store-bought) thing in the UK (though I leave out the rum and sub with more milk). Even my British friends are fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I was really nervous to try this because it seemed complicated. It was actually super easy to make and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Prime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it with only 2tbsp brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup, much less cream (maybe 1 cup? eyeballed it), and only a drop or two of Rum extract instead of alcohol... but very tasty!! :) My husband and I LOVE home-made eggnog and using this recipe as our guide did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Not that hard to make and it is very good. I'm not sure what people who said it didn't taste like eggnog and those who called it too sweet were drinking. Some people said it was too think and some said it was too thick. Some complained about the rum and even the vanilla. Here is the real deal: Sweetness: It isn't too sweet. It is roughly in the same range as store bought eggnog. It could certainly be adjusted, but I thought it was just right. Thickness: It is a little thinner than store bought eggnog once you put the rum in it. If you put rum in the store bought kind, it gets thinner - duh. If you want it to be as thick as non alcoholic, cut back on the rum, use heavy cream, or add a few more egg yolks to thicken it up. Alcohol: If you don't like rum, you won't like it with the amount of rum called for in it. I made it with Barbancourt which is a Haitian rum made in the French style. If people sat around and drank a couple good sized glasses of this, some of them would probably feel pretty good. Half or even a quarter of the rum would be fine for people who weren't trying to get a buzz but wanted the real flavor. Spices: It seemed pretty accurate. I might throw a few extra cloves in it to start and maybe mull a stick of cinnamon in the milk with the cloves next time. Nothing was overpowering. No real issues. Overall, it was what I wanted to make. Eggnog isn't my favorite drink, but I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Fantastic! My favourite is to make it without the booze and add a little Bailey's to your glass when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Horrible, I added half the sugar and it was still syrupy and way to over sweetened. Don't try this unless you want to get diabetes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love this eggnog. I have cooked this too long before but went ahead and put it in glasses anyway. After it sat for awhile the solids separated from the liquid. So I ended up with a delicious custard on the top and eggnog beneath it.. an awesome mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Held

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States