Amazingly Good Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was extremely smooth and tasty. Will definitely make it again! I left out the rum since we don't drink but left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
632 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Great recipe. I added only half the amount of eggs and less cream than the recipe called for and it was still delicious. If the eggs curdle, place the mixture in a bowl on top of a large bowl of ice water and beat rapidly with an electric mixture and this should save your eggnog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Whoa nelly! I used a double boiler for heating the milk. Instead of whisking the milk mixture into the eggs and then back into the double boiler, I just tempered the eggs with about 1/2 cup of the milk mixture, then whisked that into the double boiler. And I used one cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon and a little allspice. It was pretty strong last night. I can't wait to see how it ripens. So next time I will definitely cut down on the rum. Oh! And I did have a milk curdling problem in spite of using a double boiler and constantly stirring, so I just poured the milk mix into the blender and kept it running while I added the rum and cream. Update! I tried pumpkin pie spice this time around and did use less rum...perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I am sooo so sorry but I nor my family that I had over for Christmas dinner liked this eggnog. It was too strong in the liquor taste. We couldn't drink it at all and believe me, we are not a family of angels that don't drink. I went exactly by the recipe and even managed to not scorch the milk. I enjoyed making it but threw all of it out this morning. Is there an actual "light rum" like there is light beer? I used the clear colored rum that I would considered light and hope that wasn't what messed it up. If I ever get the nerve to make it again, I will use less rum. Please let me know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Inwood, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
good but we didn't cook the egg yolk mixture in the sauce pan. and we also beat the egg whites until stiff peaks formed and then stired that into the eggnog to make it thicker and creamery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Living in Belgium I can not buy eggnog at the grocery, in fact Belgians have not heard of eggnog! I have found this recipe to be on of the best! I am now on a quest to introduce this eggnog to all of Belgium!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Yep, amazingly good stuff!! I used half & half cream and a 1/4 less sugar. I seperated about 1/2 of it without the rum(for my nephew & me) and 1/2'd the rum. A keeper to be sure ;-) I made this again this year and it is soooo good. I only use 1/2 or less of the rum so it's not so overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
So the negative reviews almost scared me away, but after I read "If you don't like this recipe, you don't like eggnog." I decided to give it a shot and they were RIGHT! I followed suggestions of using only 1 cup of sugar. It's definately sweet enough with only 1 cup. However, I did not add rum. I used 1 tsp of rum extract. Everything else I followed TO THE LETTER. Be very very careful not to burn the milk. When returning the mixture to saucepan, I was worried. Alot of people said the mixture coagulated. After 3 minutes went by (as suggested, on medium heat) the mixture was foaming but not "thickening". I wondered, how thick is thick? As soon as I saw a pudding-like 'chunk' on my spoon I immediately removed the pan from heat and kept stirring. As it cooled, it thickened significantly.. it ended up like pumpkin pie filling before you cook it. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberChristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This eggnog recipe is great. I made this last year and I'm already getting requests for it again this year. Only change I made is I add a famous chocolatiers White Chocolate Liquor to it and it makes it amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Gave this one out as Xmas gift to neighbours who have all returned the containers asking for refills. A real winner, think it is safer using the double boiler method for last stage to prevent curdling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States